Image Map

Sci-fi and Fantasy Friday {ARCs and $5 Giftcards Weekly!}

Sci-fi And Fantasy Fridays

Link-up Your Sci-fi and Fantasy Reviews and Giveaways!

I’m a huge sci-fi and fantasy fan, to the point that that is really all I read anymore. Therefore, I decided to start a weekly feature where I get all of you to gather the sf/f reviews and giveaways you’ve published and found so that we can all discover new books, blogs, and giveaways in our favorite genres!

Congrats to Lisa for winning last week, I hope you enjoy all your books! This week I’ve got a couple of upcoming releases added to the pile:

Hidden People At the Sign of Triumph

Every week I’ll pick a random link and the email address that submitted that link will get $5 at Amazon or two ARCs from my SFFF-Books shelf!

Here are the more stringent rules concerning links for the giveaway:

[Read more…]

The Cloud Roads Read Along {Week 4}

cloud_roads_readalong

And we’re done! I’ve finally read The Cloud Roads after it sitting on my shelf for years :D. And what a fun ride it has been! Spoilers below ;-).

[Read more…]

Waiting on… The Blazing Star by Imani Josey

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine!

Adorable dragons are necessary for everything, but this one is keeping her eye out for more awesome books :D

This week I got so excited for a cover reveal that there was no doubt in my mind which book I’d feature for the return of my Waiting on Wednesday!

blazing_star

Sixteen-year-old Portia White is used to being overlooked—after all, her twin sister Alex is a literal genius.

But when Portia holds an Egyptian scarab beetle during history class, she takes center stage in a way she never expected: she faints. Upon waking, she is stronger, faster, and braver than before. And when she accidentally touches the scarab again?

She wakes up in ancient Egypt—her sister and an unwitting freshman in tow.

Great.

Mysterious and beautiful, Egypt is more than they could have ever imagined from their days in the classroom. History comes alive as the three teens realize that getting back to the present will be the most difficult thing they’ve ever done. Stalked by vicious monsters called Scorpions, every step in the right direction means a step closer to danger.

As Portia and the girls discover that they’re linked to the past by more than just chance, they have to decide what it truly means to be yourself, to love your sister, and to find your way home.

[Read more…]

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal is a book that will instantly grab attention with that gorgeous cover and then intrigue you with the idea of mediums being used to gather intelligence from soldiers after they die. I am already impressed with how the mediums are involved in military operations and definitely want to read more.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Ghost Talkers from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal {Just Hatched}

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal
Published by Tor Books on Aug. 16th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fantasy, Military Fantasy
Page Length: 304 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Ginger Stuyvesant, an American heiress living in London during World War I, is engaged to Captain Benjamin Harford, an intelligence officer. Ginger is a medium for the Spirit Corps, a special Spiritualist force.

Each soldier heading for the front is conditioned to report to the mediums of the Spirit Corps when they die so the Corps can pass instant information about troop movements to military intelligence.

Ginger and her fellow mediums contribute a great deal to the war efforts, so long as they pass the information through appropriate channels. While Ben is away at the front, Ginger discovers the presence of a traitor. Without the presence of her fiance to validate her findings, the top brass thinks she's just imagining things. Even worse, it is clear that the Spirit Corps is now being directly targeted by the German war effort. Left to her own devices, Ginger has to find out how the Germans are targeting the Spirit Corps and stop them. This is a difficult and dangerous task for a woman of that era, but this time both the spirit and the flesh are willing…

4 Stars

[Read more…]

The Monster on the Road is Me by J. P. Romney ARC {4 Stars}

In The Monster on the Road is Me by JP Romney, figures from Japanese mythology complicate the life of Koda Okita, a social misfit in a modern, ordinary (just read the sign), quiet Japanese mountain town.  But when several of his classmates commit suicide for no apparent reason, Koda begins to question the official explanations, turning up an ancient mystery with the help of an even more mysterious classmate.

Note: I received an advanced copy of THE MONSTER ON THE ROAD IS ME from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Monster on the Road is Me by J. P. Romney ARC {4 Stars}

The Monster on the Road is Me by J. P. Romney
Published by Farrar, Giroux, Strauss on August 30, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

It starts with the crows. When you see them, you know he's found you.

Koda Okita is a high school student in modern-day Japan who isn't very popular. He suffers from narcolepsy and has to wear a watermelon-sized helmet to protect his head in case he falls. But Koda couldn't care less about his low social standing. He is content with taking long bike rides and hanging out in the convenience store parking lot with his school-dropout friend, Haru.

But when a rash of puzzling deaths sweeps his school, Koda discovers that his narcoleptic naps allow him to steal the thoughts of nearby supernatural beings. He learns that his small town is under threat from a ruthless mountain demon that is hell-bent on vengeance. With the help of a mysterious - and not to mention very cute classmate - Koda must find a way to take down this demon. But his unstable and overwhelming new abilities seem to have a mind of their own.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Updates from the Lair 9/25/16

Updates from the Lair

Updates from the Lair is my weekly wrap-up post that includes what happened in my real life, what I’ve been reading, my posts from the week, and what I’m thinking about reading next week (and would love your advice on!). 

September is almost gone, whaaaaaaat? The leaves are starting to change around here and I’m so excited! I bought this scarf yesterday because it was just the perfect embodiment of my love of fall:

A photo posted by Anya (@anyalovesdragons) on

My Week

The Midnight StarI got the audiobook of The Midnight Star for review so I had to start that immediately! I love this series so much and am pumped to see how things end! I’m not super in love with the narration of the audiobook, but it’s still nice to be able to fit this one in while driving.

HuntedI’m also reading a manuscript of Hunted to see if it will work for the March Books on Dragonwings box. Things are looking good so far ;-).

[Read more…]

One Salt Sea Read Along {Week 4}

one_salt_sea_readalong

We’re done! And what an ending that was! Below are spoilers for all of this book :).

[Read more…]

Sci-fi and Fantasy Friday {ARCs and $5 Giftcards Weekly!}

Sci-fi And Fantasy Fridays

Link-up Your Sci-fi and Fantasy Reviews and Giveaways!

I’m a huge sci-fi and fantasy fan, to the point that that is really all I read anymore. Therefore, I decided to start a weekly feature where I get all of you to gather the sf/f reviews and giveaways you’ve published and found so that we can all discover new books, blogs, and giveaways in our favorite genres!

Hello loves! Congrats to Skye for winning last week, hope you like whatever you choose :D. This week I have a couple of fun titles to add to the pile:

The Magician's Key The Mountain of Kept Memory

Every week I’ll pick a random link and the email address that submitted that link will get $5 at Amazon or two ARCs from my SFFF-Books shelf!

Here are the more stringent rules concerning links for the giveaway:

[Read more…]

The Devourers by Indra Das {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Devourers by Indra Das immediately caught my attention with the gorgeous cover and the fascinating premise. I also really love finding books originally published in another country that are crossing over into American publishers since they usually reflect a more authentic experience of that other culture. The Devourers is definitely such a book and I recommend it as long as you are in the right mood for something dark and weird along with the beauty ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Devourers from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Devourers by Indra Das {Just Hatched}

The Devourers by Indra Das
Narrated by Meera Simhan, Shishir Kurup

Published by Del Rey on July 12th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Dark Fantasy
Page Length: 306 pages
Audio Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
How I got my copy: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

3.5 Stars

[Read more…]

Cloud Roads Read Along {Week 3}

cloud_roads_readalong

Hello everyone and welcome to week three of the Cloud Roads read along! I was in charge of questions this week, so I hope you like them, ha ;-).

[Read more…]