Image Map

5 Inspirations for The Fog of Forgetting

Fog of Forgetting by G. A. MorganToday I’m happy to welcome G. A. Morgan to the blog to talk about her upcoming book The Fog of Forgetting which you may remember from the awesome necklace giveaway going on still :D. 

Hi everyone, I’m G.A. Morgan, author of The Fog of Forgetting, the first book in my middle-grade fantasy trilogy called The Five Stones. It’s an exciting day for me because the book is being released as you read this, which means that if you like the sound of it by the time you finish this post, you can order the book today, read it over the weekend, and write me back! I’m excited to hear what you think. Before I get into the story, let me thank Anya for hosting me today and for being such a terrific supporter of books and sci-fi/fantasy, in particular. I want to thank all of you, too, for taking the time that you do to dive into these kind of books that try and tackle big topics in a creative way, and for supporting Anya. It takes a village to keep the dream, and we are doing it together—one book at a time!

So, onto The Fog of Forgetting. This first book in the trilogy begins at the best of all possible times: the beginning of summer. The Thompson brothers, Chase (13), Knox (12) and Teddy (6) have just arrived at their family’s house in Fells Harbor, on the coast of Maine. There, they meet two sisters, Evelyn (9) and Frankie (9), who have been orphaned by the earthquake in Haiti and sent to live in Fells Harbor. The five main characters become friends and, on a sunny afternoon, steal a boat. When a mysterious fog engulfs their boat, they wash ashore on an ancient and dangerous island that exists beyond time: the island of Ayda. As the story unfolds, they are forced to battle a great evil and discover parts of themselves they never knew existed. Soon enough, they come to realize that it is one thing to be lost, and a whole other thing to be found, and the two don’t necessarily happen in order. Obviously, a lot more happens than this, but this will give you some idea of the story.

There’s a great power on Ayda, but it is not necessarily a magical power—unless you look at nature and the forces that move within us and around us as magical (which, admittedly, I do). To me, that is the essence of supernatural…and that is what life on Ayda is like. Familiar and almost like our world, but ever so much more. To enter Ayda is to come face-to-face (and heart-to-heart) with the unfathomable potential that exists within each of us—if we only knew how to set it free. I hope you enjoy the book—and if you do, please write to me at or post a comment here.

Five Incredibly Cool Facts that Inspired The Fog of Forgetting/Five Stones Trilogy

As a reader, I love fantasy that goes beyond my wildest imaginings, but as a writer I am attracted to pieces of our history that set my mind-gears spinning. In The Fog of Forgetting, almost everything is imagined—but here in our world there are real, historical artifacts that point to the existence of The Five Stones and to Ayda. So, I ask you? What is real? And if you think it, could it not be so?

1. The Five Stones: The five stones are at the center of the mythology on Ayda–and as happens with everything on Ayda, their destinies are reflected here on our side of the fog. In fact, three thousand-year-old replicas, or statues, of the five stones have been dug up in fields throughout Europe. There is a set on display at the Ashmolean Museum in Scotland. These stones are carved in shapes that replicate the symbols for the Platonic solids, but are far older.

2. Up until the 1500’s, Medieval navigational maps of the Atlantic featured an island called Mayda, somewhere to the southeast of Newfoundland. The island of Mayda suddenly disappeared off all maps—almost as if it were universally erased from time, similar to other legendary islands like Atlantis, Mu, and Hy-Brasil. No one knows what happened, but perhaps I do, as you will read in my book.

3. Dighton Rock is a forty-pound rock covered in petroglyphs and cryptic carvings that was hauled out of the Taunton River in Massachussetts. It now sits in a museum, part of the Dighton Rock State Park. Many theories exist about the carvings and who placed them there, but the one that resonates with me is that they are markings made by the Portuguese explorer, Miguel Corte-Real in the late-15th century, whose entire vessel was lost at sea in 1501. Supposedly. Or maybe not—maybe he got lost in the fog.

4. The Nina, the Pinta and—most importantly—the Santa Maria. I can’t divulge too much about this because it has inspired much of what happens later in the trilogy, but suffice to say that the Santa Maria was shipwrecked off the coast of Haiti on Christmas Eve in 1492.

5. Last but not least: the number 5 itself. Five is a mystical, creative number that, in numerology (and according to Pythagoras), is the number of nature and art and independence. In ancient American Cosmology, five holds a revered place, not only for the five major tribes, but also for the five epochs ruled by the sun: dawn, mid-day, afternoon, dusk, and nightfall. The five elements (fire, water, earth, air, ether) are the basis of life. All matter in the universe is composed of some combination of the elements. I could go on and on about the number 5—your five senses, for instance—but I’m out of space.

Happy reading, and may your daylights protect you!

Thank you so much to G. A. Morgan for stopping by!

© 2014, Anya. All rights reserved.


  1. Very cool inspirations! it’s true, isn’t it? So many things from history can spark your imagination. :)
    Kel (Booked til Tuesday) recently posted…Top 10 Characters I Want on a Deserted IslandMy Profile

Speak Your Mind


CommentLuv badge