Image Map

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson ARC {4 Stars}

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson is the fifth book in the Sentinels of New Orleans series and starts wrapping up the events currently making DJ’s life a bit exciting, but also leaves room for an exciting conclusion! I’ve heartily enjoyed all of these books and firmly recommend you binge read this series!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Belle Chasse from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson ARC {4 Stars}

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson (Sentinels of New Orleans #5)
Published by Tor Books on Nov. 8th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

With the wizard-elven treaty on the verge of collapse, the preternatural world stands on the brink of war. Unless former wizard sentinel DJ Jaco manages to keep the elven leader, Quince Randolph, focused on peace and not personal matters.

With no one on the throne, Faerie is in chaos, with rival princes battling for power. The still-undead pirate, Jean Lafitte, is building his own army of misfits, and DJ—stripped of her job and hiding in the Beyond to avoid the death sentence handed down by the wizard Council of Elders—can’t get anywhere near her beloved New Orleans or her significant something-or-other, Alex.

It's time to choose sides. Friends will become enemies, enemies will become allies, and not everyone will survive. DJ and her friends will learn a hard lesson: sometimes, even the ultimate sacrifice isn’t enough.

4 Stars

Strengths:

  • Since DJ is spending most of her time in the Beyond in this book, we learn a whole lot more about that spooky realm along with Elfheim and Fairy! Details like what they even look like and how the different beings’ power manifests in their home realms really bring this world to life.
  • As all of these books have been, Belle Chasse is a fast and fun read. There is constant action and mystery, along with plenty of snark and just a bit of sexy times.
  • Things have just been getting more and more complicated for DJ and this book does its job as a conclusion by sorting out a lot of the complex political problems that have arose along with certain mysteries being solved.
  • While this series has never been too heavy on the romance, DJ’s romantic entanglements do take an interesting turn and develop nicely in this last book. I’m impressed that this series didn’t go down the romantic angst road as much as it could have given the situation DJ finds herself in!

Weaknesses:

  • I’m surprised at how much remains unresolved for a concluding book. There are a lot of temporary solutions that will clearly not work long term, such that I wouldn’t have even thought this was the last book of the series if it wasn’t announced as such. I assume that there will be a spin-off series, which I’m happy to read, but this is really only the conclusion to the immediate events.
    UPDATE: Good news, it’s not the last book in the series! There was an error in the publicity material saying it was the final book, but Suzanne has let me know that there will be one more *rejoices*. I’m going to leave the review as is, but know that this is not in fact an issue.

Summary:

Belle Chasse feels like a season finale instead of a series finale, making me look forward to reading the final book! If you’ve been waiting to read these books until the series was complete, this is a good time to start since the main action events are wrapped up. I highly recommend this series for fans of Kate Daniels and Mercy Thompson!

Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings

Have you read this one? What did you think? Are you excited for it if you haven’t gotten to it yet?
– Anya

 

 Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson

© 2016, Anya. All rights reserved.

Comments

  1. PLEASE don’t worry it’s NOT the last book at all! there is at minimum one more that will be titled FRENCHMEN AND RAMPART.

    i absolutely love this series and the author is fantastic

  2. Is it weird I can’t get over how strangely posed the model on the cover seems? It looks interesting i might have to check out the series.

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge