Image Map

Planning to Pillage – Recent Acquisitions

Planning to Pillage

Planning to Pillage is my way of showcasing books that I’m excited about for one reason or another. They may have recently shown up in my mail, they may have just gotten a cover, I may have recently requested them. No matter the case, they are books I think you should have on your radar too!

Did you all get what you want for Christmas if you celebrate? I didn’t actually ask for books this year since omg so many books, but I wanted to highlight some of the exciting things I’ve gotten in the mail recently to help you choose how to spend those giftcards ;-).

(Covers link to Goodreads so you can add these too!)

The Bone Labyrinth

The Bone Labyrinth
(Published December 15th 2015 by William Morrow) I’m actually almost done with this one already! I don’t read a lot of thrillers, but this one had a clear sci-fi twist so I was excited :D. It’s a cool near future sci-fi with gene manipulation. And you don’t need to have read the other Sigma Force novels to enjoy.

A war is coming, a battle that will stretch from the prehistoric forests of the ancient past to the cutting-edge research labs of today, all to reveal a true mystery buried deep within our DNA, a mystery that will leave readers changed forever . . .

In this groundbreaking masterpiece of ingenuity and intrigue that spans 50,000 years in human history, New York Times bestselling author James Rollins takes us to mankind’s next great leap.

But will it mark a new chapter in our development . . . or our extinction?

In the remote mountains of Croatia, an archaeologist makes a strange discovery: a subterranean Catholic chapel, hidden for centuries, holds the bones of a Neanderthal woman. In the same cavern system, elaborate primitive paintings tell the story of an immense battle between tribes of Neanderthals and monstrous shadowy figures. Who is this mysterious enemy depicted in these ancient drawings and what do the paintings mean?

Before any answers could be made, the investigative team is attacked, while at the same time, a bloody assault is made upon a primate research center outside of Atlanta. How are these events connected? Who is behind these attacks? The search for the truth will take Commander Gray Pierce of Sigma Force 50,000 years into the past. As he and Sigma trace the evolution of human intelligence to its true source, they will be plunged into a cataclysmic battle for the future of humanity that stretches across the globe . . . and beyond.

With the fate of our future at stake, Sigma embarks on its most harrowing odyssey ever—a breathtaking quest that will take them from ancient tunnels in Ecuador that span the breadth of South America to a millennia-old necropolis holding the bones of our ancestors. Along the way, revelations involving the lost continent of Atlantis will reveal true mysteries tied to mankind’s first steps on the moon. In the end, Gray Pierce and his team will face to their greatest threat: an ancient evil, resurrected by modern genetic science, strong enough to bring about the end of man’s dominance on this planet.

Only this time, Sigma will falter—and the world we know will change forever

Black Wolves

Black Wolves
(Published November 3rd 2015 by Orbit) I can’t tell you how much I am excited for this book! I’ve seen several awesome reviews and I can’t wait to read my first Kate Elliot book!

For readers of Brent Weeks and fans of Netflix’s Marco Polo comes a rich and inspired fantasy tale of warriors and nobles who must take the most desperate gamble of all: awaken allies more destructive than the hated king they hope to overthrow. Kate Elliott’s new trilogy is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

An exiled captain returns to help the son of the king who died under his protection in this rich and multi-layered first book in an action-packed new series.

Twenty two years have passed since Kellas, once Captain of the legendary Black Wolves, lost his King and with him his honor. With the King murdered and the Black Wolves disbanded, Kellas lives as an exile far from the palace he once guarded with his life.

Until Marshal Dannarah, sister to the dead King, comes to him with a plea-rejoin the palace guard and save her nephew, King Jehosh, before he meets his father’s fate.

Combining the best of Shogun and Netflix’s Marco Polo, Black Wolves is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

Skyborn

Skyborn
(Published November 17th 2015 by Orbit) So Orbit had this website that helped you choose what recent release fit your reading preferences, and they rated books by amount of magic, so I kind of needed all the high magic ones >.>.

The last remnants of humanity live on six islands floating high above the Endless Ocean, fighting a brutal civil war in the skies. The Seraphim, elite soldiers trained for aerial combat, battle one another while wielding elements of ice, fire and lightning.

The lives of their parents claimed in combat, twins Kael and Breanna Skyborn enter the Seraphim Academy to follow in their footsteps. There they will learn to harness the elements as weapons and fight at break-neck speeds while soaring high above the waters. But they must learn quickly, for a nearby island has set its hungry eyes upon their home. When the invasion comes, the twins must don their wings and ready their blades to save those they love from annihilation.

Battle Mage

Battlemage
(Published September 22nd 2015 by Orbit) Magic! :D

‘I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone,’ Balfruss growled. ‘It’s dangerous to meddle with things you don’t understand.’

BALFRUSS is a battlemage, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears his kind.

VARGUS is a common soldier – while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he is down on the front line getting blood on his blade.

TALANDRA is a princess and spymaster, but the war will force her to risk everything, and make the greatest sacrifice of all.

Magic and mayhem collide in this explosive epic fantasy from a major new talent.

Winterwood

Winterwood
(Expected publication: February 2nd 2016 by DAW) I have been pumped for this book ever since I saw the cover! Gorgeous :D. But more seriously magic and piracy???? YES!

Set in 1800 in Britain, Mad King George is on the throne with Napoleon Bonaparte knocking on the door. Unregistered magic users are pursued to the death, while in every genteel home resides uncomplaining rowankind bondservants who have become so commonplace that no one can recall where they came from.

Meanwhile, Rossalinde Tremayne is satisfied with her life as a cross-dressing privateer captain on the high seas. But a bitter deathbed visit to her estranged mother changes her life completely when she inherits a magical winterwood box. Now, not only is she confronted with a newly-discovered brother, and an annoyingly handsome wolf shapeshifter, Rossalinde has to decide whether or not to open the box to free rowankind and right an ancient wrong—even if it brings the downfall of Britain.

This brand-new series is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Bear, D.B. Jackson, and Marie Brennan, as well as readers of historical fiction who are looking for an accessible gateway to fantasy.

The Edge of the Worlds

The Edge of Worlds
(Expected publication: April 5th 2016 by Night Shade Books) I tragically haven’t had a chance to read the first Raksura trilogy yet, but I have it on good authority that this new trilogy can be enjoyed without the background of the first and I’m thrilled :D. You know a book is for you when the publicist tells you that your shared dragon obsession made her love it ;-).

An expedition of groundlings from the Empire of Kish have traveled through the Three Worlds to the Indigo Cloud court of the Raksura, shape-shifting creatures of flight that live in large family groups. The groundlings have found a sealed ancient city at the edge of the shallow seas, near the deeps of the impassable Ocean. They believe it to be the last home of their ancestors and ask for help getting inside. But the Raksura fear it was built by their own distant ancestors, the Forerunners, and the last sealed Forerunner city they encountered was a prison for an unstoppable evil.

Prior to the groundlings’ arrival, the Indigo Cloud court had been plagued by visions of a disaster that could destroy all the courts in the Reaches. Now, the court’s mentors believe the ancient city is connected to the foretold danger. A small group of warriors, including consort Moon, an orphan new to the colony and the Raksura’s idea of family, and sister queen Jade, agree to go with the groundling expedition to investigate. But the predatory Fell have found the city too, and in the race to keep the danger contained, the Raksura may be the ones who inadvertently release it.

The Edge of Worlds, from celebrated fantasy author Martha Wells, returns to the fascinating world of The Cloud Roads for the first book in a new series of strange lands, uncanny beings, dead cities, and ancient danger.

What are you excited about reading lately? 

Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings -Anya

© 2015, Anya. All rights reserved.

Comments

  1. Ok, all of those covers are just GORGEOUS! Every single one of them haha.
    And Winterwood sounds really amazing, I must add that to my tbr list :O Thank you for sharing!! ^-^
    Carla @ Lipstick & Mocha recently posted…The Legend of the Gypsy Hawk by Sally MalcolmMy Profile

  2. I’m not familiar with any of these books, but several look really good. I’ll be checking them out. Thanks for the recommendations.
    Melanie Simmons (@mlsimmons) recently posted…Top 10 Books I’m looking forward to in 2016My Profile

  3. Bone Labyrinth and The Edge of the Worlds look good, enjoy!
    Bea @Bea’s Book Nook recently posted…Merry Christmas!!!My Profile

  4. Thanks for the wonderful recommendations, Anya! I hope you had a lovely Christmas and have a happy new year!

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge