Image Map

Loki’s Wolves by K.L. Armstrong {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

 

Note: I received an advanced copy of Loki’s Wolves from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Loki’s Wolves by K.L. Armstrong {Just Hatched}

Loki's Wolves by K.L. Armstrong (The Blackwell Pages #1)
Published by Little Brown on May 7th, 2013
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, MG
Page Length: 358 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In Viking times, Norse myths predicted the end of the world, an event called Ragnarok, that only the gods can stop. When this apocalypse happens, the gods must battle the monsters--wolves the size of the sun, serpents that span the seabeds, all bent on destroying the world.

The gods died a long time ago.

Matt Thorsen knows every Norse myth, saga, and god as if it was family history--because it is family history. Most people in the modern-day town of Blackwell, South Dakota, in fact, are direct descendants of either Thor or Loki, including Matt's classmates Fen and Laurie Brekke.

However, knowing the legends and completely believing them are two different things. When the rune readers reveal that Ragnarok is coming and kids--led by Matt--will stand in for the gods in the final battle, he can hardly believe it. Matt, Laurie, and Fen's lives will never be the same as they race to put together an unstoppable team to prevent the end of the world.

2 Stars

[Read more…]

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman Audiobook {3.5 Stars}

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman Audiobook {3.5 Stars}

Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
Narrated by Lenny Henry
(American Gods #2)
Published by HarperCollins on Sept. 20th, 2005
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
Audio Length: 10 hrs and 8 mins
How I got my copy: Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

One of fiction's most audaciously original talents, Neil Gaiman now gives us a mythology for a modern age -- complete with dark prophecy, family dysfunction, mystical deceptions, and killer birds. Not to mention a lime.

Anansi Boys
God is dead. Meet the kids.


When Fat Charlie's dad named something, it stuck. Like calling Fat Charlie "Fat Charlie." Even now, twenty years later, Charlie Nancy can't shake that name, one of the many embarrassing "gifts" his father bestowed -- before he dropped dead on a karaoke stage and ruined Fat Charlie's life.

Mr. Nancy left Fat Charlie things. Things like the tall, good-looking stranger who appears on Charlie's doorstep, who appears to be the brother he never knew. A brother as different from Charlie as night is from day, a brother who's going to show Charlie how to lighten up and have a little fun ... just like Dear Old Dad. And all of a sudden, life starts getting very interesting for Fat Charlie.

Because, you see, Charlie's dad wasn't just any dad. He was Anansi, a trickster god, the spider-god. Anansi is the spirit of rebellion, able to overturn the social order, create wealth out of thin air, and baffle the devil. Some said he could cheat even Death himself.

Returning to the territory he so brilliantly explored in his masterful New York Times bestseller, American Gods, the incomparable Neil Gaiman offers up a work of dazzling ingenuity, a kaleidoscopic journey deep into myth that is at once startling, terrifying, exhilarating, and fiercely funny -- a true wonder of a novel that confirms Stephen King's glowing assessment of the author as "a treasure-house of story, and we are lucky to have him."

3.5 Stars

Thoughts:
[Read more…]

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly {4 Stars}

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly {4 Stars}

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly (Seriously Wicked #2)
Published by Tor Teen on Nov. 1st, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 240 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Teenage witch Cam isn’t crazy about the idea of learning magic. She’d rather be no witch than a bad one. But when a trio of her mother’s wicked witch friends decide to wreak havoc in her high school, Cam has no choice but to try to stop them.

Esmerelda is the mean girl of the witches. Valda likes to drop anvils on people’s heads. And Malkin—well, Malkin is just plain terrifying. Their idea of fun is a little game—they each pick a student from Cam’s high school and compete to see who can make their teen the most miserable. But Cam suspects one of the witches may have an ulterior motive…which means someone at school could be in worse danger yet.

Now Cam’s learning invisibility spells, dodging exploding cars, and pondering the ethics of love potions. All while trying to keep her grades up and go on a first date with her crush. If the witches don’t get him first, that is.

Can’t a good witch ever catch a break?

4 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Seriously Shifted from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Devourers by Indra Das {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Devourers by Indra Das immediately caught my attention with the gorgeous cover and the fascinating premise. I also really love finding books originally published in another country that are crossing over into American publishers since they usually reflect a more authentic experience of that other culture. The Devourers is definitely such a book and I recommend it as long as you are in the right mood for something dark and weird along with the beauty ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Devourers from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Devourers by Indra Das {Just Hatched}

The Devourers by Indra Das
Narrated by Meera Simhan, Shishir Kurup

Published by Del Rey on July 12th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Dark Fantasy
Page Length: 306 pages
Audio Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
How I got my copy: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

3.5 Stars

[Read more…]

The Hike by Drew Magary {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Hike by Drew Magary is as odd as its cover implies, but it is not actually the strangest book I’ve ever read ;-). If you enjoy things a bit strange, but with an intriguing mystery, I suspect this would be a fun book for you.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Hike from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Hike by Drew Magary {Just Hatched}

The Hike by Drew Magary
Published by Viking Adult on Aug. 2nd, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Genre-bender
Page Length: 288 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

From the author of The Postmortal, a fantasy saga unlike any you’ve read before, weaving elements of folk tale and video game into a riveting, unforgettable adventure of what a man will endure to return to his family
 
When Ben, a suburban family man, takes a business trip to rural Pennsylvania, he decides to spend the afternoon before his dinner meeting on a short hike. Once he sets out into the woods behind his hotel, he quickly comes to realize that the path he has chosen cannot be given up easily. With no choice but to move forward, Ben finds himself falling deeper and deeper into a world of man-eating giants, bizarre demons, and colossal insects.

On a quest of epic, life-or-death proportions, Ben finds help comes in some of the most unexpected forms, including a profane crustacean and a variety of magical objects, tools, and potions. Desperate to return to his family, Ben is determined to track down the “Producer,” the creator of the world in which he is being held hostage and the only one who can free him from the path.

At once bitingly funny and emotionally absorbing, Magary’s novel is a remarkably unique addition to the contemporary fantasy genre, one that draws as easily from the world of classic folk tales as it does from video games. In The Hike, Magary takes readers on a daring odyssey away from our day-to-day grind and transports them into an enthralling world propelled by heart, imagination, and survival.

3 Stars

[Read more…]

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings is a middle grade story of a young girl seeking to rescue her father after he doesn’t return home from a fishing trip. The thing that makes Song of the Deep stand out, however, is that it is the novelization of a video game by the same name where you experience Merryn’s adventure first hand!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Song of the Deep from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings {Just Hatched}

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings
Published by Sterling on July 12th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, MG, Steampunk
Page Length: 176 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Twelve-year-old Merryn lives with her fisherman father in a little cottage by the sea. Each day, her father braves the tumultuous waves and returns home in time for dinner. One stormy evening, he doesn’t come back. Merryn has a vision that he’s been dragged underwater by a terrifying sea creature, and he needs her help. Determined to rescue him, Merryn builds a tiny submarine and embarks on a journey through the undersea worlds she’s only heard about in her father’s lullabies. As she faces the dangers and wonders of the world below the waves, she realizes that her father’s stories were all real.

Readers can also experience Merryn’s daring journey firsthand in the new Song of the Deep video game from acclaimed developer Insomniac Games.

2 Stars

[Read more…]

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather ARC {4.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather is a spooky mystery filled with rich historical details that really bring Salem of past and present to life. Further, How to Hang a Witch brings the effects of bullying to full and painful light and made me instantly connect with Sam as she struggled to survive high school on top of a curse. Don’t miss the giveaway at the bottom of the post!

Note: I received an advanced copy of How to Hang a Witch from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather ARC {4.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather (How to Hang a Witch #1)
Published by Knopf on July 26th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, Paranormal
Page Length: 368 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Salem, Massachusetts is the site of the infamous witch trials and the new home of Samantha Mather. Recently transplanted from New York City, Sam and her stepmother are not exactly welcomed with open arms. Sam is the descendant of Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for those trials and immediately, she becomes the enemy of a group of girls who call themselves The Descendants. And guess who their ancestors were?

If dealing with that weren't enough, Sam also comes face to face with a real live (well technically dead) ghost. A handsome, angry ghost who wants Sam to stop touching his stuff. But soon Sam discovers she is at the center of a centuries old curse affecting anyone with ties to the trials.

Sam must come to terms with the ghost and find a way to work with the Descendants to stop a deadly cycle that has been going on since the first accused witch was hanged. If any town should have learned its lesson, it's Salem. But history is about to repeat itself.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley ARC {3 Stars}

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley is a highly anticipated sequel to The Rook, which I recently read and absolutely loved. Therefore, I was thrilled to have the sequel to jump into immediately. However, I’m sad to say that Stiletto really doesn’t measure up to its predecessor for a number of reasons, but most of all because it is lacking the delightfully dry humor of The Rook. It expands on the world and has an interesting mystery, but was a lot less enjoyable this time around.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Stiletto from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley ARC {3 Stars}

Stiletto by Daniel O'Malley (The Checquy Files)
Published by Little Brown on June 14th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 582 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In this spirited sequel, The Rook returns to clinch an alliance between deadly rivals and avert epic—and slimy—supernatural war.

When secret organizations are forced to merge after years of enmity and bloodshed, only one person has the fearsome powers—and the bureaucratic finesse—to get the job done. Facing her greatest challenge yet, Rook Myfanwy Thomas must broker a deal between two bitter adversaries:

The Checquy—the centuries-old covert British organization that protects society from supernatural
threats, and…
The Grafters—a centuries-old supernatural threat.

But as bizarre attacks sweep London, threatening to sabotage negotiations, old hatreds flare. Surrounded by spies, only the Rook and two women, who absolutely hate each other, can seek out the culprits before they trigger a devastating otherworldly war.

STILETTO is a novel of preternatural diplomacy, paranoia, and snide remarks, from an author who “adroitly straddles the thin line between fantasy, thriller, and spoof”.

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley {4.5 Stars}

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley is a book that completely flew under my radar for which I am exceedingly chagrined. To be fair, it came out back in 2012 when I was just starting to pay attention to new books coming out, unlike my current obsessed state. However, this whole situation therefore made me exceedingly glad that the sequel showed up unexpectedly on my doorstep, since I went right out and grabbed The Rook from the library and proceeded to lose an entire weekend in a mysterious time contraction event.

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley {4.5 Stars}

The Rook by Daniel O'Malley (The Checquy Files #1)
Published by Little Brown on Jan 11th, 2012
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy
Page Length: 486 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

"The body you are wearing used to be mine." So begins the letter Myfanwy Thomas is holding when she awakes in a London park surrounded by bodies all wearing latex gloves. With no recollection of who she is, Myfanwy must follow the instructions her former self left behind to discover her identity and track down the agents who want to destroy her.

She soon learns that she is a Rook, a high-ranking member of a secret organization called the Chequy that battles the many supernatural forces at work in Britain. She also discovers that she possesses a rare, potentially deadly supernatural ability of her own.

In her quest to uncover which member of the Chequy betrayed her and why, Myfanwy encounters a person with four bodies, an aristocratic woman who can enter her dreams, a secret training facility where children are transformed into deadly fighters, and a conspiracy more vast than she ever could have imagined.

Filled with characters both fascinating and fantastical, The Rookis a richly inventive, suspenseful, and often wry thriller that marks an ambitious debut from a promising young writer.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Roses and Rot by Kat Howard ARC {4 Stars}

Roses and Rot by Kat Howard is a beautiful story of two sisters and an artist retreat that is much more sinister than it appears. There is a lot of meta-commentary on writing and dealing with abuse because the main character is writing her own novel and we get to read parts of it. I loved the writing of Roses and Rot and read it in just two days. I’m very much looking forward to seeing what Howard does next!

Trigger warning: Severe child abuse.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Roses and Rot from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Roses and Rot by Kat Howard ARC {4 Stars}

Roses and Rot by Kat Howard
Published by Saga Press on May 17th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Imogen and her sister Marin have escaped their cruel mother to attend a prestigious artists’ retreat, but soon learn that living in a fairy tale requires sacrifices, be it art or love in this haunting debut fantasy novel from “a remarkable young writer” (Neil Gaiman).

What would you sacrifice in the name of success? How much does an artist need to give up to create great art?

Imogen has grown up reading fairy tales about mothers who die and make way for cruel stepmothers. As a child, she used to lie in bed wishing that her life would become one of these tragic fairy tales because she couldn’t imagine how a stepmother could be worse than her mother now. As adults, Imogen and her sister Marin are accepted to an elite post-grad arts program—Imogen as a writer and Marin as a dancer. Soon enough, though, they realize that there’s more to the school than meets the eye. Imogen might be living in the fairy tale she’s dreamed about as a child, but it’s one that will pit her against Marin if she decides to escape her past to find her heart’s desire.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]