Image Map

The Width of the World by David Baldacci {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

This third book in the series has a dystopian feel, combining magical world-crossing fantasy with a hint of steampunk.  Fans of Vega Jane will welcome this next stage in her quest for answers, but it is definitely not a good start for those of us who have not followed the series up to this point.

Note: I received an advanced copy of THE WIDTH OF THE WORLD from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Width of the World by David Baldacci {Just Hatched}

The Width of the World by David Baldacci (Vega Jane #3)on February 28, 2017
Genres: Dystopia, Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 421 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

This is it. Vega Jane's time. She's been lied to her whole life, so she breaks away from Wormwood, the only home she's ever known, in search of the truth. She battles horrors to fight her way across the Quag with her best friend, Delph, and her mysterious canine, Harry Two. Against all odds, they survive unimaginable dangers and make it through.

And into a new world that's even worse. Not because deadly beasts roam the cobblestones, but because the people are enslaved but don't even know it. It's up to Vega, Delph, Harry Two and their new comrade, Petra, to take up the fight against a foe that's unrivaled in savagery and cunning. Not only is Vega's life and the lives of her friends on the line, but whether she triumphs or fails will determine whether a whole world survives.

3 Stars

[Read more…]

After Atlas by Emma Newman ARC {5 Stars}

After Atlas by Emma Newman ARC {5 Stars}

After Atlas by Emma Newman (Planetfall)
Published by Roc on November 8, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Sci-fi
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley, Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Govcorp detective Carlos Moreno was only a baby when Atlas left Earth to seek truth among the stars. But in that moment, the course of Carlos’s entire life changed. Atlas is what took his mother away; what made his father lose hope; what led Alejandro Casales, leader of the religious cult known as the Circle, to his door. And now, on the eve of the fortieth anniversary of Atlas’s departure, it’s got something to do why Casales was found dead in his hotel room—and why Carlos is the man in charge of the investigation.

To figure out who killed one of the most powerful men on Earth, Carlos is supposed to put aside his personal history. But the deeper he delves into the case, the more he realizes that escaping the past is not so easy. There’s more to Casales’s death than meets the eye, and something much more sinister to the legacy of Atlas than anyone realizes...

5 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of AFTER ATLAS from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Firefly Code by Megan Frazer Blakemore ARC {3 Stars}

The Firefly Code by Megan Frazer Blakemore is a futuristic utopia for middle grade readers. I loved that the utopian society felt believable while still leaving room for a few kids to find out something was wrong and work to fix it. If you have a young reader who isn’t quite ready for the YA dystopian trend yet, this would be a great place to start.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Firefly Code from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Firefly Code by Megan Frazer Blakemore ARC {3 Stars}

The Firefly Code by Megan Frazer Blackmore
Published by Bloomsbury on May 3rd, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, MG
Page Length: 352 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Mori and her friends live a normal life on Firefly Lane in their utopian community, Old Harmonie. In a world this safe and perfect, they've never had to question anything . . . never had to wonder about how their lives came to be. Until a new girl named Ilana moves in. She's so perfect that Mori and her friends are curious . . . Where exactly did Ilana come from, and why does she act so strange sometimes? When Ilana's secret is revealed, the kids on Firefly Lane must decide: is it finally time to start questioning the only world they've ever known?

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Dissension by Stacey Berg {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Dissension by Stacey Berg is a sci-fi dystopian that takes the dystopia idea to the max with a realistic portrayal of how society might attempt to endure. Add on a same-sex romance and a kick-butt heroine and I can’t recommend this enough. I will definitely be reading the rest asap.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Dissension from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Dissension by Stacey Berg {Just Hatched}

Dissension by Stacey Berg (Echo Hunter 367 #1)
Published by Harper Voyager on March 15th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Dystopia, Sci-fi
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

For four hundred years, the Church has led the remnants of humanity as they struggle for survival in the last inhabited city. Echo Hunter 367 is exactly what the Church created her to be: loyal, obedient, lethal. A clone who shouldn’t care about anything but her duty. Who shouldn’t be able to.

When rebellious citizens challenge the Church’s authority, it is Echo’s duty to hunt them down before civil war can tumble the city back into the dark. But Echo hides a deadly secret: doubt. And when Echo’s mission leads her to Lia, a rebel leader who has a secret of her own, Echo is forced to face that doubt. For Lia holds the key to the city’s survival, and Echo must choose between the woman she loves and the purpose she was born to fulfill.

4.5 Stars

[Read more…]

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson ARC {5 Stars}

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson is the thrilling conclusion to the Reckoners trilogy, bringing back all of my favorite things from the first two books and providing long-awaited answers. I struggled a bit with Firefight, so was thrilled that Calamity felt like the ending I was looking for and made everything come full circle. I also rather liked David’s humor this time around ;-). There will be spoilers in the blurb for the first two books!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Calamity from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson ARC {5 Stars}

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #3)
Published by Delacorte on Feb. 16th, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Superheroes, YA
Page Length: 432 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

When Calamity lit up the sky, the Epics were born. David’s fate has been tied to their villainy ever since that historic night. Steelheart killed his father. Firefight stole his heart. And now Regalia has turned his closest ally into a dangerous enemy.

David knew Prof’s secret, and kept it even when Prof struggled to control the effects of his Epic powers. But facing Obliteration in Babilar was too much. Once the Reckoners’ leader, Prof has now embraced his Epic destiny. He’s disappeared into those murky shadows of menace Epics are infamous for the world over, and everyone knows there’s no turning back...

But everyone is wrong. Redemption is possible for Epics—Megan proved it. They’re not lost. Not completely. And David is just about crazy enough to face down the most powerful High Epic of all to get his friend back. Or die trying.

5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith {4 Stars}

Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith is the first in a fantasy trilogy that breaks the mold in so many lovely ways. I wasn’t expecting a ghost story when I picked up Radiant, but was thrilled with the fascinating magic system, the friendship between a heroine and a ghost, and the beautiful writing. Definitely a great choice if you don’t want a romance in your YA fantasy.

Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith {4 Stars}

Radiant by Karina Sumner-Smith (Towers Trilogy #1)
Published by Talos on Sept. 30th, 2014
Genres: Dark Fantasy, Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Xhea has no magic. Born without the power that everyone else takes for granted, Xhea is an outcast—no way to earn a living, buy food, or change the life that fate has dealt her. Yet she has a unique talent: the ability to see ghosts and the tethers that bind them to the living world, which she uses to scratch out a bare existence in the ruins beneath the City’s floating Towers.

When a rich City man comes to her with a young woman’s ghost tethered to his chest, Xhea has no idea that this ghost will change everything. The ghost, Shai, is a Radiant, a rare person who generates so much power that the Towers use it to fuel their magic, heedless of the pain such use causes. Shai’s home Tower is desperate to get the ghost back and force her into a body—any body—so that it can regain its position, while the Tower’s rivals seek the ghost to use her magic for their own ends. Caught between a multitude of enemies and desperate to save Shai, Xhea thinks herself powerless—until a strange magic wakes within her. Magic dark and slow, like rising smoke, like seeping oil. A magic whose very touch brings death.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Dove Arising by Karen Bao Audiobook {2.5 Stars}

Dove Arising by Karen Bao is the story of a future where we’ve colonized the moon and science has taken over as the main pillar of society. Phaet has a bright future ahead of her in biology (engineering new crops :D) when a string of bad luck pulls everything apart. Fortunately there’s a cute boy to save the day and a corrupt government to overthrow. The narrator was pretty good though!

Note: I received an advanced audio copy of Dove Arising from the publisher. Audio influences my experience with the book.

Dove Arising by Karen Bao Audiobook {2.5 Stars}

Dove Arising by Karen Bao (Dove Chronicles #1)
Published by Viking Penguin on Feb. 24th 2015
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar.

Then her mother is arrested.

The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth-dwellers. Training is brutal, but it’s where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider.

Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom:  that’s the plan. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble...

2.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson ARC {4 Stars}

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson continues the Reckoners series by telling the story of what happens after you face down with a demi-god of a super villain. There will be spoilers below for Steelheart, so check out my review of that instead if you want to be safe! I’ll be honest that Firefight was a weird book for me. I loved Steelheart so much and have such trust in Sanderson that I was expecting a whole hell of a lot. Firefight didn’t quite deliver, hence why I’m writing this review so long after reading I suspect, but Firefight was still a good book. Once I got halfway through, things were rolling, it was just getting to that point that was a struggle. Also omg I need Calamity NOW!

Note: I borrowed an advanced copy of Firefight. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson ARC {4 Stars}

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #2)
Published by Delacorte on Jan. 6th, 2015
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 416 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

They told David it was impossible--that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart--invincible, immortal, unconquerable--is dead. And he died by David's hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there's no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David's willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David's heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic--Firefight. And he's willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons is a pretty hyped book and I was excited to get my hands on a copy. I had actually been planning on trying to read the whole thing but found I just wasn’t in the mood for the tone so instead it gets to be my first Just Hatched! I read 8% of The Glass Arrow, which is actually a fair bit more than the first chapter, but I was stuck waiting for a prescription to fill so what else was I to do? ;-)

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Glass Arrow from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons {Just Hatched}

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons
Published by Tor Teen on Feb. 10th, 2015
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

[Read more…]

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon {3 Stars}

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon is a very ambitious combination of psychic powers, underground crime syndicates, and otherworldly creatures. I’ll admit I had put off reading The Bone Season for this long because I’m just not that into psychic powers for some reason and the blurb never grabbed me, and it turns out that perhaps my first instincts were right. I can see the impressive and original parts of The Bone Season, and I still read through it surprisingly fast, but by the end I just didn’t actually feel anything still. Since I know a lot of you have read and loved this one, I’m very interested in hearing your thoughts!

Note: I received a copy of The Bone Season from the publisher. 

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon {3 Stars}

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon (The Bone Season #1)
Published by Bloomsbury on Aug. 20th, 2013
Genres: Alternative History, Dystopia, Fantasy, Genre-bender, YA
Page Length: 452 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

It is the year 2059. Several major world cities are under the control of a security force called Scion. Paige Mahoney works in the criminal underworld of Scion London, part of a secret cell known as the Seven Seals. The work she does is unusual: scouting for information by breaking into others’ minds. Paige is a dreamwalker, a rare kind of clairvoyant, and in this world, the voyants commit treason simply by breathing.

But when Paige is captured and arrested, she encounters a power more sinister even than Scion. The voyant prison is a separate city—Oxford, erased from the map two centuries ago and now controlled by a powerful, otherworldly race. These creatures, the Rephaim, value the voyants highly—as soldiers in their army.

Paige is assigned to a Rephaite keeper, Warden, who will be in charge of her care and training. He is her master. Her natural enemy. But if she wants to regain her freedom, Paige will have to learn something of his mind and his own mysterious motives.

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]