Image Map

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden ARC {5 Stars}

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden ARC {5 Stars}

The Prey of Gods by Nicky Drayden
Published by Harper Voyager on June 13th, 2017
Genres: Adult, Genre-bender, Sci-fi
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes—the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:

A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .
An emerging AI uprising . . .
And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.

It’s up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there’s a future left to worry about.

5 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Prey of Gods from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Mountain of Kept Memory by Rachel Neumeier {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter (or three).

The Mountain of Kept Memory is a book that I considered for the Books on Dragonwings December box! It has a really cool world and blends fantasy and sci-fi in fascinating ways, but at 30% I was getting bored. So if you are in the mood for a heavy thinking book rich in details, check this one out.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Mountain of Kept Memory from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Mountain of Kept Memory by Rachel Neumeier {Just Hatched}

The Mountain of Kept Memory by Rachel Neumeier on Nov. 8th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Genre-bender, Sci-fi
Page Length: 448 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In this gorgeous fantasy in the spirit of Guy Gavriel Kay and Robin McKinley, a prince and a princess must work together to save their kingdom from outside invaders…and dangers within.

Long ago the Kieba, last goddess in the world, raised up her mountain in the drylands of Carastind. Ever since then she has dwelled and protected the world from unending plagues and danger…

Gulien Madalin, heir to the throne of Carastind, finds himself more interested in ancient history than the tedious business of government and watching his father rule. But Gulien suspects that his father has offended the Kieba so seriously that she has withdrawn her protection from the kingdom. Worse, he fears that Carastind’s enemies suspect this as well.

Then he learns that he is right. And invasion is imminent.

Meanwhile Gulien’s sister Oressa has focused on what’s important: avoiding the attention of her royal father while keeping track of all the secrets at court. But when she overhears news about the threatened invasion, she’s shocked to discover what her father plans to give away in order to buy peace.

But Carastind’s enemies will not agree to peace at any price. They intend to not only conquer the kingdom, but also cast down the Kieba and steal her power. Now, Gulien and Oressa must decide where their most important loyalties lie, and what price they are willing to pay to protect the Kieba, their home, and the world.

3 Stars

[Read more…]

Calamity: Being an Account of Calamity Jane and Her Gunslinging Green Man by J. D. Jordan {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Calamity has to be one of the most original books I have ever read.  Taking the western genre and combining it with aliens …. literally big green men …. and a re-telling of the backstory of Calamity Jane makes for a refreshing read.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Calamity from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Calamity: Being an Account of Calamity Jane and Her Gunslinging Green Man by J. D. Jordan {Just Hatched}

Calamity by J. D. Jordan
Published by Heliosphere Books on September 1, 2016
Genres: Adult, Genre-bender, Sci-fi, Weird West
Page Length: 300 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

I’m sure you’ve heard of Calamity Jane, but this is not a novel about Calamity Jane.  At least not the Jane you may have read about. Calamity Jane is part of the legends of the Wild West, but long before she scouted with Custer or “Wild Bill” Hickok, she was a fifteen-year-old girl with a fiery temper.

Violence and tragedy turn young Jane’s world upside down and soon she finds herself riding with an alien gunslinger—the Green Man—through a landscape of revenge and betrayal.

Along the way, she learns how to shoot a six-gun and how to stand on her own, even when surrounded by Lakota warriors, and be respected. From space ships to guns that can shoot the wings off a butterfly a mile away, young Jane realizes that the universe is far bigger than the Wild West and that she can trust no one in it to save her but herself.

When the villainous Grays meddling in the wars between the Indians and the government stand in the way of the Green Man making his way home, Jane finds her desire for revenge may be less than her loyalty for the longrider. And in that realization, she becomes the hero the Wild West has long remembered.

So, forget what you know of how the West was won.  Forget the Indian Wars and Custer’s Last Stand.  Instead, learn the truth of what happened when a young girl met a longrider she called the Green Man . . .

3 Stars

[Read more…]

The Last Adventure of Constance Verity by A. Lee Martinez {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Last Adventure of Constance Verity by A. Lee Martinez is different than your expected urban fantasy as you might expect from the title. From the first page, it’s clear that Constance has a very strange life in that it’s basically the most extreme version of a chosen-one satire ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Last Day of Constance Verity from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Last Adventure of Constance Verity by A. Lee Martinez {Just Hatched}

The Last Adventure of Constance Verity by A. Lee Martinez (Constance Verity #1)
Published by Saga Press on 384
Genres: Adult, Genre-bender
Page Length: June 14th, 2016 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Constance Verity has been saving the world since she was seven, and she’s sick of it. She sets off on one last adventure to assassinate her fairy godmother and become the one thing she’s never been: ordinary.

Ever since she was granted a wish at birth by her fairy godmother, Constance Verity has become one of the world’s great adventurers. It all began at her seventh birthday party when she defeated a snake. She has become a master of exotic martial arts, a keen detective, and possesses a collection of strange artifacts gathered from her adventures. But Constance has spent the past twenty-eight years saving the world, and she’s tired of it. All she wants is to work in an office and date a nice, normal guy. And she is finally figured out a way to do it: she’s going to kill her fairy godmother and reset her life. The only problem, though, is that saving the world is Constance’s destiny. She’s great at it, and there are forces at work to make sure she stays in the job.

Then again, it’s also her destiny to have a glorious death.

2 Stars

[Read more…]

The Hike by Drew Magary {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Hike by Drew Magary is as odd as its cover implies, but it is not actually the strangest book I’ve ever read ;-). If you enjoy things a bit strange, but with an intriguing mystery, I suspect this would be a fun book for you.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Hike from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Hike by Drew Magary {Just Hatched}

The Hike by Drew Magary
Published by Viking Adult on Aug. 2nd, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Genre-bender
Page Length: 288 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

From the author of The Postmortal, a fantasy saga unlike any you’ve read before, weaving elements of folk tale and video game into a riveting, unforgettable adventure of what a man will endure to return to his family
 
When Ben, a suburban family man, takes a business trip to rural Pennsylvania, he decides to spend the afternoon before his dinner meeting on a short hike. Once he sets out into the woods behind his hotel, he quickly comes to realize that the path he has chosen cannot be given up easily. With no choice but to move forward, Ben finds himself falling deeper and deeper into a world of man-eating giants, bizarre demons, and colossal insects.

On a quest of epic, life-or-death proportions, Ben finds help comes in some of the most unexpected forms, including a profane crustacean and a variety of magical objects, tools, and potions. Desperate to return to his family, Ben is determined to track down the “Producer,” the creator of the world in which he is being held hostage and the only one who can free him from the path.

At once bitingly funny and emotionally absorbing, Magary’s novel is a remarkably unique addition to the contemporary fantasy genre, one that draws as easily from the world of classic folk tales as it does from video games. In The Hike, Magary takes readers on a daring odyssey away from our day-to-day grind and transports them into an enthralling world propelled by heart, imagination, and survival.

3 Stars

[Read more…]

Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson Audiobook {3 Stars}

Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson is a novella I’ve been meaning to read for a while. I have great faith in Sanderson for always writing something interesting and inventive, so I had no idea what Perfect State was actually about before jumping in headfirst. I have to say that what I got was not at all what I was expecting and while it is definitely inventive, I feel like Perfect State tries to pack in a bit too much for a novella.

Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson Audiobook {3 Stars}

Perfect State by Brandon Sanderson
Narrated by Christian Rummel

Published by Dragonsteel Entertainment on March 31st, 2015
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Genre-bender, Sci-fi
Page Length: 87 pages
Audio Length: 2 hrs and 4 mins
How I got my copy: Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

God-Emperor Kairominas is lord of all he surveys. He has defeated all foes, has united the entire world beneath his rule, and has mastered the arcane arts. He spends his time sparring with his nemesis, who keeps trying to invade Kai's world.

Except for today. Today, Kai has to go on a date.

Forces have conspired to require him to meet with his equal—a woman from another world who has achieved just as much as he has. What happens when the most important man in the world is forced to have dinner with the most important woman in the world?

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand eARC {5 Stars}

Things You Should Know About Some Kind of Happiness:

  • It is not a fantasy story.
  • The protagonist is a very realistically written young girl dealing with many issues in her life.
  • There are many secrets hidden in and around Hart House.
  • Not all of these secrets are nice.
  • The tale starts off slowly but will soon have readers flipping through pages, to discover if they have deduced some of the secrets … and afraid that they will be right.

Note: I received an advanced copy of SOME KIND OF HAPPINESS from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand eARC {5 Stars}

Some Kind of Happiness by Claire Legrand
Published by Simon & Schuster on May 17, 2016
Genres: Genre-bender, Literary, MG, Mystery
Page Length: 374 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

THINGS FINLEY HART DOESN’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT

• Her parents, who are having problems. (But they pretend like they’re not.)
• Being sent to her grandparents’ house for the summer.
• Never having met said grandparents.
• Her blue days—when life feels overwhelming, and it’s hard to keep her head up. (This happens a lot.)

Finley’s only retreat is the Everwood, a forest kingdom that exists in the pages of her notebook. Until she discovers the endless woods behind her grandparents’ house and realizes the Everwood is real--and holds more mysteries than she'd ever imagined, including a family of pirates that she isn’t allowed to talk to, trees covered in ash, and a strange old wizard living in a house made of bones.

With the help of her cousins, Finley sets out on a mission to save the dying Everwood and uncover its secrets. But as the mysteries pile up and the frightening sadness inside her grows, Finley realizes that if she wants to save the Everwood, she’ll first have to save herself.

Reality and fantasy collide in this powerful, heartfelt novel about family, depression, and the power of imagination.

5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Killing Pretty by Richard Kadrey ARC {4.5 Stars}

This fun, quick read combines genres of the hard-boiled detective genre with an alternate-universe fantasy that reminded me strongly of Constantine (the TV show) mashed up with The Dresden Files with an off-the-wall world building reminiscent of Supernatural, but a lot less grim.  Our hero, Stark, has had a colorful life … in fact, several lives … and the weird just keeps on coming through this seventh book of the Sandman Slim series in which the Angel of Death shows up needing his help.  As clients go, Death isn’t so bad, and who wouldn’t want him to owe you a big, fat favor??

Note: I received an advanced copy of Killing Pretty from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Killing Pretty by Richard Kadrey ARC {4.5 Stars}

Killing Pretty by Richard Kadrey (Sandman Slim #7)
Published by Harper Voyager on July 28th 2015
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Genre-bender, Mystery
Page Length: 416 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Someone has tried to kill Death—ripping the heart right out of him—or rather the body he's inhabiting. Death needs Sandman Slim's help. He believes anyone who can beat Lucifer and the old gods at their own game is the only one who can solve his murder.

Stark follows a sordid trail deep into LA's subterranean world, from vampire-infested nightclubs to Weimar Republic mystical societies. Along the way he meets a mysterious girl—distinguished by a pair of graveyard eyes—as badass as Slim; she happens to be the only person who ever outwitted Death. But escaping her demise has had dire consequences for the rest of the world... and a few others.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente caught my eye as soon as it was announced because I love Valente’s Fairyland books and so am eager to consume anything she writes. However, that synopsis gave me pause because it is honestly hard to tell at all what the book is going to be about and it is pretty clear that it is going to unlike anything you’ve read before. It is definitely unlike anything I read before and I made it to page 200 before realizing that there are books by favorite authors that just don’t appeal to me and that’s okay! Check out a sample before you put money down, but if you are looking for something truly unique, this is a good place to start.

Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente {Just Hatched}

Radiance by Catherynne M. Valente
Published by Tor Books on Oct. 20th, 2015
Genres: Adult, Alternative History, Genre-bender
Page Length: 432 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Radiance is a decopunk pulp SF alt-history space opera mystery set in a Hollywood—and solar system—very different from our own, from the phenomenal talent behind the New York Times bestselling The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

Severin Unck’s father is a famous director of Gothic romances in an alternate 1986 in which talking movies are still a daring innovation due to the patent-hoarding Edison family. Rebelling against her father’s films of passion, intrigue, and spirits from beyond, Severin starts making documentaries, traveling through space and investigating the levitator cults of Neptune and the lawless saloons of Mars. For this is not our solar system, but one drawn from classic science fiction in which all the planets are inhabited and we travel through space on beautiful rockets. Severin is a realist in a fantastic universe.

But her latest film, which investigates the disappearance of a diving colony on a watery Venus populated by island-sized alien creatures, will be her last. Though her crew limps home to earth and her story is preserved by the colony’s last survivor, Severin will never return.

Aesthetically recalling A Trip to the Moon and House of Leaves, and told using techniques from reality TV, classic film, gossip magazines, and meta-fictional narrative, Radiance is a solar system-spanning story of love, exploration, family, loss, quantum physics, and silent film.

2.5 Stars

[Read more…]

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine eARC {4 Stars}

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine is the first in a new YA fantasy/sci-fi exploring the possibility of the Library of Alexandria surviving past the modern day and into 2030! Ink and Bone ended up being much darker than I was expecting, but it is full of adventure, diversity, friendship, and cool technology too :D. If you’re looking for a fun new series to start and can’t resist the siren’s call of The Library of Alexandria, go get yourself a copy!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Ink and Bone from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine eARC {4 Stars}

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine (The Great Library #1)
Published by NAL on July 7th, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Genre-bender, YA
Page Length: 368 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Ruthless and supremely powerful, the Great Library is now a presence in every major city, governing the flow of knowledge to the masses. Alchemy allows the Library to deliver the content of the greatest works of history instantly—but the personal ownership of books is expressly forbidden.

Jess Brightwell believes in the value of the Library, but the majority of his knowledge comes from illegal books obtained by his family, who are involved in the thriving black market. Jess has been sent to be his family’s spy, but his loyalties are tested in the final months of his training to enter the Library’s service.

When he inadvertently commits heresy by creating a device that could change the world, Jess discovers that those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life—and soon both heretics and books will burn.…

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]