Image Map

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey {3 Stars}

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey {3 Stars}

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey (The Girl with all the Gifts #1)
Published by Orbit on June 19th, 2014
Genres: Adult, Horror, Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi
Page Length: 460 pages
How I got my copy: Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

3 Stars

PSA: Symbiont means organisms that live together, parasites ARE SYMBIONTS, when you say symbiote/symbiont you probably mean mutualist. Symbiote is a Spiderman villain, though some older biology works used it. Symbiont is definitely more correct. Please remember this.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Fold by Peter Clines {4 Stars}

The Fold by Peter Clines is a sci-fi story of what happens when science attempts a leap forward and stumbles rather badly. The Fold had just enough Lovecraftian-horror elements to hook me without keeping me up at night, and I devoured it during a ten-hour car ride even to the point of breaking out a flashlight (ie my phone) to read the last few pages as it got too dark to read ;-). If you like your sci-fi addictive and just a bit spooky, don’t miss The Fold!

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Fold from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Fold by Peter Clines {4 Stars}

The Fold by Peter Clines
Published by Crown on June 2nd, 2015
Genres: Adult, Horror, Sci-fi
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

STEP INTO THE FOLD.
IT’S PERFECTLY SAFE.

The folks in Mike Erikson's small New England town would say he's just your average, everyday guy. And that's exactly how Mike likes it. Sure, the life he's chosen isn’t much of a challenge to someone with his unique gifts, but he’s content with his quiet and peaceful existence.

That is, until an old friend presents him with an irresistible mystery, one that Mike is uniquely qualified to solve: far out in the California desert, a team of DARPA scientists has invented a device they affectionately call the Albuquerque Door. Using a cryptic computer equation and magnetic fields to “fold” dimensions, it shrinks distances so that a traveler can travel hundreds of feet with a single step.

The invention promises to make mankind’s dreams of teleportation a reality. And, the scientists insist, traveling through the Door is completely safe.

Yet evidence is mounting that this miraculous machine isn’t quite what it seems—and that its creators are harboring a dangerous secret.

As his investigations draw him deeper into the puzzle, Mike begins to fear there’s only one answer that makes sense. And if he’s right, it may only be a matter of time before the project destroys…everything.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]