Image Map

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey {3 Stars}

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey {3 Stars}

The Girl with all the Gifts by M. R. Carey (The Girl with all the Gifts #1)
Published by Orbit on June 19th, 2014
Genres: Adult, Horror, Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi
Page Length: 460 pages
How I got my copy: Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

3 Stars

PSA: Symbiont means organisms that live together, parasites ARE SYMBIONTS, when you say symbiote/symbiont you probably mean mutualist. Symbiote is a Spiderman villain, though some older biology works used it. Symbiont is definitely more correct. Please remember this.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Last Star by Rick Yancey Audiobook {5 Stars}

The Last Star by Rick Yancey is a fantastic conclusion to a fantastic trilogy. There is really no way to talk about this book without spoiling the previous ones, so if you haven’t read The 5th Wave yet, check out my review and get on that! Now that it’s just us insiders here, trust that you should take a vacation day because you aren’t going to want to put this book down.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Last Star from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Last Star by Rick Yancey Audiobook {5 Stars}

The Last Star by Rick Yancey
Narrated by Ben Yannette, Phoebe Strole
(The 5th Wave #3)
Published by GP Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on May 24th, 2016
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 352 pages
Audio Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Moving Forward by Jamie Lackey {4.5 Stars}

Moving Forward by Jamie Lackey is a novella about what happens after the zombie plague has been controlled and life needs to start moving on. I love the unique premise and I also love a main character who is a middle-aged veteran of the zombie war, black, and bisexual. Corinne is brave and kind and really tired of dealing with zombies. I’m not normally a fan of zombie stories, so believe it when I say this is a novella not to miss if you are even slightly intrigued ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of Moving Forward from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Moving Forward by Jamie Lackey {4.5 Stars}

Moving Forward by Jamie Lackey
Published by Author on March 1st, 2016
Genres: Adult, Novella, Post Apocalyptic
Page Length: 70 pages
How I got my copy: Author
Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Corinne survived the zombie apocalypse 30 years ago. After the dust settled, she got married, had kids, built a life. All of that is gone in an instant when a zombie attacks a city park. Corinne manages to protect her family, but the zombie bites her before it is taken down. She wakes up in one of the infected sanctuaries, where she'll have to build her life over again, knowing that at any moment she, or anyone around her, could become a monster.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Winter by Dan Grace eARC {3 Stars}

Winter by Dan Grace is a novella about a group of people trying to survive in the north after a war has broken out in the UK. However, one of their companions seems to have powers beyond that of an ordinary person, and everyone’s survival depends on the decisions they are about to make. Winter is told in alternating time periods during the escape from populated areas and a while after they’ve been living off the land in the winter. It’s an interesting premise, but I found myself too frustrated by the lack of answers in the end.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Winter from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Winter by Dan Grace eARC {3 Stars}

Winter by Dan Grace
Published by Unsung Signals on Feb. 22nd, 2016
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Post Apocalyptic
Page Length: 83 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In the aftermath of an anarchic uprising, a group of revolutionaries flee London for the north, coming to terms with the violent loss of their companions, battling with illness and a new way of life.

In the forests of the Scottish borders, they meet Mikhail, a Ukrainian immigrant in touch with powers they can scarcely believe. But is he all he seems? Because the snows are coming, the seasons turn, and the laws of the cities mean little to the woods.

In Dan Grace’s debut novella a violent future of the failed Union meets the mythic and pagan past. As man reaps the harvest of war, utopian hopes vie with apocalyptic fears. Winter sets in.

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

City of Light by Keri Arthur eARC {3.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

City of Light by Keri Arthur is the first in a new sci-fi/urban fantasy mash-up series starring a genetically-modified heroine name Tiger in a future devastated by war between humans and shape-shifters with some Otherworld alien-ghost things thrown in for good measure. If you are looking for a story with the feel of urban fantasy, but in a sci-fi setting, this is a great place to look. Don’t miss the giveaway at the bottom of this post!

Note: I received an advanced copy of City of Light from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

This book has adult content.
City of Light by Keri Arthur eARC {3.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

City of Light by Keri Arthur (Outcast #1)
Published by Signet on Jan. 5th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Paranormal Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 368 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

When the bombs that stopped the species war tore holes in the veil between this world and the next, they allowed entry to the Others—demons, wraiths, and death spirits who turned the shadows into their hunting grounds. Now, a hundred years later, humans and shifters alike live in artificially lit cities designed to keep the darkness at bay....

As a déchet—a breed of humanoid super-soldiers almost eradicated by the war—Tiger has spent her life in hiding. But when she risks her life to save a little girl on the outskirts of Central City, she discovers that the child is one of many abducted in broad daylight by a wraith-like being—an impossibility with dangerous implications for everyone on earth.

Because if the light is no longer enough to protect them, nowhere is safe...

3.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel Audiobook {4.5 Stars}

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel is a literary post-apocalyptic story that really shines as an audiobook and absolutely mesmerized me. I was a bit nervous going in, but also in the mood for something different and Station Eleven is definitely different. Most post-apocalyptic stories I’ve read lately have been solidly YA, and Station Eleven takes basically the opposite approach: it isn’t about who’s going to survive the apocalypse, it’s about who these people were before it happened and who they are 20 years afterward.

Note: I listened to Station Eleven on audio. Listening to a book strongly impacts my reading experience.

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel Audiobook {4.5 Stars}

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Narrated by Kirsten Potter

Published by Knopf on Sept. 9th, 2014
Genres: Adult, Literary, Post Apocalyptic
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Gift
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization's collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.

One snowy night Arthur Leander, a famous actor, has a heart attack onstage during a production of King Lear. Jeevan Chaudhary, a paparazzo-turned-EMT, is in the audience and leaps to his aid. A child actress named Kirsten Raymonde watches in horror as Jeevan performs CPR, pumping Arthur's chest as the curtain drops, but Arthur is dead. That same night, as Jeevan walks home from the theater, a terrible flu begins to spread. Hospitals are flooded and Jeevan and his brother barricade themselves inside an apartment, watching out the window as cars clog the highways, gunshots ring out, and life disintegrates around them.

Fifteen years later, Kirsten is an actress with the Traveling Symphony. Together, this small troupe moves between the settlements of an altered world, performing Shakespeare and music for scattered communities of survivors. Written on their caravan, and tattooed on Kirsten's arm is a line from Star Trek: "Because survival is insufficient." But when they arrive in St. Deborah by the Water, they encounter a violent prophet who digs graves for anyone who dares to leave.

Spanning decades, moving back and forth in time, and vividly depicting life before and after the pandemic, this suspenseful, elegiac novel is rife with beauty. As Arthur falls in and out of love, as Jeevan watches the newscasters say their final good-byes, and as Kirsten finds herself caught in the crosshairs of the prophet, we see the strange twists of fate that connect them all. A novel of art, memory, and ambition, Station Eleventells a story about the relationships that sustain us, the ephemeral nature of fame, and the beauty of the world as we know it.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Atlantia by Ally Condie ARC {4 Stars}

Atlantia by Ally Condie is a standalone that mixes a post-apocalyptic future Earth with magic and a strong environmentalism message. Atlantia is not, as I first thought, a mermaid book, but instead takes place deep under the ocean in a habitat humans constructed when the air pollution on land became too toxic. There is also magic in Atlantia though in the form of several miracles that appeared after the humans moved into Atlantia, including people being born with the ability to force others to obey with just the sound of their voice. Beyond all the cool world-building though, Atlantia is the story of a young girl dealing with the loss of her family and trying to understand who she is without the help of her twin sister.

Note: I borrowed an advanced copy of Atlantia. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Atlantia by Ally Condie ARC {4 Stars}

Atlantia by Ally Condie
Published by Dutton Juvenile on October 28th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, Post Apocalyptic, YA
Page Length: 368 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Can you hear Atlantia breathing?

For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose.

Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey {4 Stars}

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey is the heart-wrenching, pulse-pounding sequel to The 5th Wave. The aliens are meaner, the feels more devastating, and the plot even twistier if that is possible. The Infinite Sea is a book you need to deliberately schedule time for to avoid missing appointments or horrendously disrupting your sleep schedule. I seriously could not put down The Infinite Sea and then I noticed it was 3am. I called in sick to work (I really did have a headache from all the crying…) and finished it immediately. Due to the nature of these books, there will be major spoilers for The 5th Wave below.

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey {4 Stars}

The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey (The 5th Wave #2)
Published by Putnam Juvenille on Sept. 16th, 2014
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Thriller, YA
Page Length: 320 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

For Cassie Sullivan and the rest of Earth’s remaining human survivors, the situation was already desperate when the 5th Wave hit. It’s about to get worse.

No one yet knows the depths to which Earth’s conquerors—the Others—will sink in order to rid the Earth of the human infestation, nor have they guessed the heights to which the human spirit can reach. Characters introduced in Book One will come to the fore—and others will face the ultimate test.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Audiobook {4 Stars}

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey is a quite realistic and grim portrayal of a hostile alien invasion, where the aliens aren’t little green men that you can easily shoot and the mystery of why they’ve come isn’t something you really want to solve. I bought The 5th Wave as soon as it came out and then of course it sat all pretty on my shelf for over a year before I got the audiobook and finally read it! The 5th Wave is a crazy intense book and listening to it while driving might not be the best plan, but if you like alien invasion then you should definitely check it out!

Note: I listened to The 5th Wave on audio and this definitely changes my opinion on the book.

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey Audiobook {4 Stars}

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
Narrated by Brandon Espinoza, Phoebe Strole
(The 5th Wave #1)
Published by Putnam Juvenille on May 7th, 2013
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 457 pages
How I got my copy: Purchased
IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother—or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Where the Rock Splits the Sky by Philip Webb ARC {4.5 Stars}

Where the Rock Splits the Sky by Philip Webb is one of the most unique and fun books I’ve read in 2014 (which is saying a lot given the other books reviewed here so far this year!). It combines a spooky alien apocalypse premise with the thrills and dangers of the Wild West and I just could not get enough. I can easily see Where the Rock Splits the Sky being turned into a movie given the amazing places the characters explore and I really just can’t recommend it enough to sci-fi fans who are looking for something fresh and yet reminiscent of a certain space cowboy show we all love ;-).

Note: I received Where the Rock Splits the Sky from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Where the Rock Splits the Sky by Philip Webb ARC {4.5 Stars}

Where the Rock Splits the Sky by Philip Webb
Published by Chicken House on March 25th, 2014
Genres: Genre-bender, Post Apocalyptic, YA
Page Length: 272 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The moon has been split, and the Visitors have Earth in their alien grip. But the captive planet? That's not her problem. Megan just wants to track down her missing dad...

The world stopped turning long before Megan was born. Ever since the Visitors split the moon and stilled the Earth, permanent sunset is all anyone has known. But now, riding her trusty steed Cisco, joined by her posse, Kelly and Luis, Megan is on the run from her Texas hometown, journeying across the vast, dystopic American West to hunt down her father. To find him, she must face the Zone, a notorious landscape where the laws of nature do not apply. The desert can play deadly tricks on the mind, and the quest will push Megan past her limits. But to solve the mystery of not just her missing father but of the paralyzed planet itself, she must survive it--and an alien showdown.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]