Image Map

A Dance Like Flame by Tammy Blackwell eARC {5 Stars}

A Dance Like Flame by Tammy Blackwell eARC {5 Stars}

A Dance Like Flame by Tammy Blackwell (Of Magic & Machine #1)
Published by Author on April 4th, 2017
Genres: Historical Fantasy, Romance, Steampunk
Page Length: 403 pages
How I got my copy: Author
Amazon - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

She’s the daughter of an earl with a secret no one can know. He’s a mage who has sacrificed everything to save those he loves. They were born worlds apart, but inside a city drenched in magic, anything is possible.

Unmarried at the age of six-and-twenty, Lady Elizabeth “Bits” Warner has become a burden to her family. Therefore, she isn’t surprised when they pack her on a train bound for Scotland and a fiancé she has never met. She’s not surprised, but she is terrified.

In Corrigan, a walled-off city that serves as refuge to those capable of using the aether to cast spells and concoct potions, Ezra Nash is devoted to healing the sick and injured. Between his work as a surgeon and caring for his sisters, he doesn’t have time for distractions.

When the train Bits is traveling on explodes, she finds herself inside the gates of Corrigan and under Ezra’s care. The two are drawn to one another, but it will take more than attraction to overcome the difference in their stations and the secrets they hide from the world.

5 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of A Dance Like Flame from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd eARC {4 Stars}

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd is a new fantasy introducing readers to a world where airships sail the skies, humans live on mountains and Gublins haunt the ground. Amid all this, Tak just wants to figure out how to get away with following another royal ship as he avoids helping his father in the silk-weaving business. I love seeing a fantasy/steampunk setting that deftly weaves in actual science to make the setting more believable and intriguing. So many doors are opened when the atmosphere of the world is heavier than our own, including room for dragons and airships!

Note: This is an expedited review, meaning I was paid to read and review this book and the author chose for this review to be published. See my review policy for more information.

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd eARC {4 Stars}

The Sailweaver's Son by Jeff Minerd
Published by Silver Leaf Books on Sept. 28th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Steampunk, YA
Page Length: 306 pages
How I got my copy: Author
Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In The Sailweaver’s Son, when fifteen year-old Tak rescues the survivor of an airship destroyed by one of the giant flammable gas bubbles mysteriously appearing in the sky of Etherium, the authorities react like a flock of startled grekks.

Admiral Scud accuses Tak of sabotage. Tak’s father grounds him for reckless airmanship. The King’s advisors declare the bubbles are weapons devised by the Gublins, a race of devious—and dangerous—underground creatures. To clear his name, solve the mystery, and prevent a misguided war, Tak must visit the Gublins and find out what they know. When the odd and beautiful wizard’s daughter asks Tak to venture to the underworld with her, he reluctantly agrees.

The adventure will take Tak from the deepest underground caves to a desperate battle on Etherium’s highest mountaintop. It will force him to face his worst fears, and to grow up faster than he expected.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings is a middle grade story of a young girl seeking to rescue her father after he doesn’t return home from a fishing trip. The thing that makes Song of the Deep stand out, however, is that it is the novelization of a video game by the same name where you experience Merryn’s adventure first hand!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Song of the Deep from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings {Just Hatched}

Song of the Deep by Brian Hastings
Published by Sterling on July 12th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, MG, Steampunk
Page Length: 176 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Twelve-year-old Merryn lives with her fisherman father in a little cottage by the sea. Each day, her father braves the tumultuous waves and returns home in time for dinner. One stormy evening, he doesn’t come back. Merryn has a vision that he’s been dragged underwater by a terrifying sea creature, and he needs her help. Determined to rescue him, Merryn builds a tiny submarine and embarks on a journey through the undersea worlds she’s only heard about in her father’s lullabies. As she faces the dangers and wonders of the world below the waves, she realizes that her father’s stories were all real.

Readers can also experience Merryn’s daring journey firsthand in the new Song of the Deep video game from acclaimed developer Insomniac Games.

2 Stars

[Read more…]

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd is a story that combines fantasy with science and airships and had me hooked from the first chapter. If you want to read the first chapter yourself, try it out here!

Note: I received this book as part of an Expedited Review, meaning I was paid to read and review it. This feature is not part of that obligation. For more information, see my review policy.

The Sailweaver’s Son by Jeff Minerd {Just Hatched}

The Sailweaver's Son by Jeff Minerd
Published by Silver Leaf Books on Sept. 28th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Steampunk, YA
Page Length: 306 pages
How I got my copy: Author
Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In The Sailweaver’s Son, when fifteen year-old Tak rescues the survivor of an airship destroyed by one of the giant flammable gas bubbles mysteriously appearing in the sky of Etherium, the authorities react like a flock of startled grekks.

Admiral Scud accuses Tak of sabotage. Tak’s father grounds him for reckless airmanship. The King’s advisors declare the bubbles are weapons devised by the Gublins, a race of devious—and dangerous—underground creatures. To clear his name, solve the mystery, and prevent a misguided war, Tak must visit the Gublins and find out what they know. When the odd and beautiful wizard’s daughter asks Tak to venture to the underworld with her, he reluctantly agrees.

The adventure will take Tak from the deepest underground caves to a desperate battle on Etherium’s highest mountaintop. It will force him to face his worst fears, and to grow up faster than he expected.

4.5 Stars

[Read more…]

Imprudence by Gail Carriger eARC {4 Stars}

Imprudence by Gail Carriger is the second in the Custard Protocol series and every bit as fun and adventurous as the previous book! Prudence and friends are in for another adventure touring a different part of the world, discovering forgotten magical beings, and getting into all sorts of trouble. If you are a fan of audiobooks, I highly recommend this series on audio, the narration adds a whole new element of fun :D. I had a hard time deciding if I wanted to delay reading this one in order to listen to the audio, but in the end, I couldn’t resist!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Imprudence from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Imprudence by Gail Carriger eARC {4 Stars}

Imprudence by Gail Carriger (The Custard Protocol #2)
Published by Orbit on July 19th, 2016
Genres: Historical Fantasy, Steampunk, YA
Page Length: 320 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

London is in chaos.

Rue and the crew of The Spotted Custard returned from India with revelations that shook the foundations of the scientific community. There is mass political upheaval, the vampires are tetchy, and something is seriously wrong with the local werewolf pack. To top it all off, Rue’s best friend Primrose keeps getting engaged to the most inappropriate military types.

Rue has got personal problems as well. Her vampire father is angry, her werewolf father is crazy, and her obstreperous mother is both. Worst of all, Rue’s beginning to suspect what they all really are… is frightened.

When the Custard is ordered to Egypt, transporting some highly unusual passengers, Rue’s problems go from personal to impossible. Can she get Percy to stop sulking? Will she find the true cause of Primrose’s lovesickness? And what is Quesnel hiding in the boiler room?

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May eARC {4 Stars}

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May continues the break-neck adventure started in The Falconer, filled with steampunk and fae goodness along with a bit of supernatural love story. If you loved The Falconer, but didn’t like being tortured with that cliffhanger, I think you are going to quite enjoy continuing the story ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Vanishing Throne from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May eARC {4 Stars}

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May (The Falconer #2)
Published by Chronicle Books on June 21st, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Steampunk
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Aileana Kameron, the Falconer, disappeared through the portal that she was trying to close forever. Now she wakes up in the fae world, trapped and tortured by the evil Lonnrach. With the help of an unexpected ally, Aileana re-enters the human world, only to find everything irrevocably changed. Edinburgh has been destroyed, and the few human survivors are living in an uneasy truce with the fae, while both worlds are in danger of disappearing altogether. Aileana holds the key to saving both worlds, but in order to do so she must awaken her latent Falconer powers. And the price of doing that might be her life.

Rich with imaginative detail, action, fae lore, and romance, The Vanishing Throne is a thrilling sequel to The Falconer.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Everland by Wendy Spinale {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Everland by Wendy Spinale is a Peter Pan retelling set in a post-war England where London has been completely decimated and the kids remaining are barely surviving. I was drawn in by that gorgeous cover immediately and am happy that the steampunk wings show up right away. However, this seems like a retelling that is a bit too gimmicky for my taste.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Everland from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Everland by Wendy Spinale {Just Hatched}

Everland by Wendy Spinale
Published by Scholastic Press on May 10th, 2016
Genres: Alternative History, Steampunk
Page Length: 320 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Forget the story of Peter Pan you know. Because in Everland, the only way to grow up is to survive.

London has been destroyed in a blitz of bombs and disease. The only ones who have survived are children, among them Gwen Darling and her siblings, Joanna and Mikey. They spend their nights scavenging and their days avoiding the ruthless Marauders -- the German Army led by Captain Hanz Otto Oswald Kretschmer.

Unsure if the virus has spread past England's borders but desperate to leave, Captain Hook hunts for a cure, which he thinks can be found in one of the survivors. He and his Marauders stalk the streets snatching children for experimentation. None ever return. Until the day they grab Joanna. As Gwen sets out to save her, she meets a mysterious boy named Pete. Pete offers the assistance of his gang of Lost Boys and the fierce sharpshooter Bella, who have all been living in a city hidden underground. But in a place where help has a steep price and every promise is bound by blood, it will cost Gwen. And are she, Pete, the Lost Boys, and Bella enough to outsmart Captain Hook?

2 Stars

[Read more…]

Waybound by Cam Baity and Benny Zelkowicz ARC {3.5 Stars}

Waybound by Cam Baity and Benny Zelkowicz is the second Book of Ore and continues the adventures of two kids in a world of living metal that has been used to make all the technology of their world. This story gets pretty dark and scary for a middle grade, but the world and magic are so freaking cool that I definitely recommend it as long as the reader can handle darker elements. If you’d rather check out my review for book one, here it is.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Waybound from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Waybound by Cam Baity and Benny Zelkowicz ARC {3.5 Stars}

Waybound by Benny Zelkowicz, Cam Baity (The Books of Ore #2)
Published by Disney Hyperion on April 12th, 2016
Genres: MG, Steampunk
Page Length: 352 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Phoebe Plumm and Micah Tanner are a long way from home and entrenched in a struggle with no end in sight. The Foundry, an all-powerful company that profits off the living metal creatures of Mehk, is unleashing a wave of devastating attacks to crush the rebel army of mehkans known as the Covenant and capture Phoebe and Micah, dead or alive.

But the Covenant believes that their ancient god, Makina, has chosen Phoebe for a sacred task: to seek the Occulyth, a mysterious object they hope can turn the tide against the Foundry. With her father gone, Phoebe's once unshakable determination is broken, and while Micah tries to uphold the vow he made to protect her no matter the cost, their enemies are closing in and time is running out.

3.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher ARC {5 Stars}

I’m excited to be welcoming my book-loving mom back to the blog as she helps me tackle the review pile! She’s basically a co-blogger at this point so look forward to more from her ;-).

I worried about The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher because I don’t usually embrace a new series from a favorite author. It is usually discordant to have a familiar and beloved style show up crafting a different world and characters. Butcher’s new series, however, has made me rethink my rule of thumb. This series is as well-crafted as his later Harry Dresden books, with rich characters and an expansive new world. I had a very hard time putting down this tome and found myself breezing through its 600+ pages in a matter of a few days.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Aeronaut’s Windlass from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher ARC {5 Stars}

The Aeronaut's Windlass by Jim Butcher (The Cinder Spires #1)
Published by Roc on Sept. 29th, 2015
Genres: Adult, Steampunk
Page Length: 640 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Since time immemorial, the Spires have sheltered humanity, towering for miles over the mist-shrouded surface of the world. Within their halls, aristocratic houses have ruled for generations, developing scientific marvels, fostering trade alliances, and building fleets of airships to keep the peace.

Captain Grimm commands the merchant ship, Predator. Fiercely loyal to Spire Albion, he has taken their side in the cold war with Spire Aurora, disrupting the enemy’s shipping lines by attacking their cargo vessels. But when the Predator is severely damaged in combat, leaving captain and crew grounded, Grimm is offered a proposition from the Spirearch of Albion—to join a team of agents on a vital mission in exchange for fully restoring Predator to its fighting glory.

And even as Grimm undertakes this dangerous task, he will learn that the conflict between the Spires is merely a premonition of things to come. Humanity’s ancient enemy, silent for more than ten thousand years, has begun to stir once more. And death will follow in its wake…

5 Stars

Strengths:

[Read more…]

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson ARC {4 Stars}

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson is a steampunk revolutionary fantasy that has convinced me that I really do like steampunk! Rebel Mechanics has a great combination of governess duties, cute children, cute guys, revolution, magic, and inventions so really there is something for everyone to love ;-). This is a summer book not to miss!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Rebel Mechanics from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson ARC {4 Stars}

Rebel Mechanics by Shanna Swendson
Published by Farrar on July 14th, 2015
Genres: Historical Fantasy, Steampunk, YA
Page Length: 320 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

A sixteen-year-old governess becomes a spy in this alternative U.S. history where the British control with magic and the colonists rebel by inventing.

It’s 1888, and sixteen-year-old Verity Newton lands a job in New York as a governess to a wealthy leading family—but she quickly learns that the family has big secrets. Magisters have always ruled the colonies, but now an underground society of mechanics and engineers are developing non-magical sources of power via steam engines that they hope will help them gain freedom from British rule. The family Verity works for is magister—but it seems like the children's young guardian uncle is sympathetic to the rebel cause. As Verity falls for a charming rebel inventor and agrees to become a spy, she also becomes more and more enmeshed in the magister family’s life. She soon realizes she’s uniquely positioned to advance the cause—but to do so, she’ll have to reveal her own dangerous secret.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]