Image Map

The Secrets of Solace by Jaleigh Johnson ARC {4 Stars} + Giveaway!

The Secrets of Solace by Jaleigh Johnson is the second book in the World of Solace series, but it is a companion and stands alone quite well from the first book, The Mark of the Dragonfly. So, if the idea of a steampunk fantasy world where mysterious items from other worlds fall from the sky as meteors, this is a great place to jump in! In this second book, we get to find out so much more about those strange objects and the world of Solace while also cheering for classic underdogs fighting against the Draco Malfoys of the school ;-). Delacorte is providing giveaway copies, so don’t miss the giveaway below!

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Secrets of Solace from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Secrets of Solace by Jaleigh Johnson ARC {4 Stars} + Giveaway!

The Secrets of Solace by Jaleigh Johnson (World of Solace #2)
Published by Delacorte on March 8th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, MG
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Lina Winterbock lives in the mountain strongholds of Solace. She’s an apprentice to the archivists, the wise men and women whose lives are dedicated to cataloging, studying, and preserving the objects that mysteriously fall from the sky in the scrap towns.
Lina should be spending her days with books, but the Iron War has changed everything. The strongholds are now a refuge, and the people Lina once counted on no longer have time for her, so she spends her days exploring the hidden tunnels and passages of her home. The strongholds are vast and old, with twisting paths, forgotten rooms, and collapsed chambers, some of them containing objects that have been lost and forgotten even by the archivists.
And in one of the forgotten chambers, Lina discovers a secret.
Hidden deep in a cavern is a half-buried airship like nothing she has ever seen before. She’s determined to dig it out and restore it. But Lina needs help, and she doesn’t know anyone she can trust with her secret.
Then she meets Ozben, a mysterious boy who has a secret of his own—a secret that’s so dangerous it could change the course of the Iron War and the world of Solace forever.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson ARC {5 Stars}

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson is the thrilling conclusion to the Reckoners trilogy, bringing back all of my favorite things from the first two books and providing long-awaited answers. I struggled a bit with Firefight, so was thrilled that Calamity felt like the ending I was looking for and made everything come full circle. I also rather liked David’s humor this time around ;-). There will be spoilers in the blurb for the first two books!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Calamity from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson ARC {5 Stars}

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #3)
Published by Delacorte on Feb. 16th, 2016
Genres: Dystopia, Superheroes, YA
Page Length: 432 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

When Calamity lit up the sky, the Epics were born. David’s fate has been tied to their villainy ever since that historic night. Steelheart killed his father. Firefight stole his heart. And now Regalia has turned his closest ally into a dangerous enemy.

David knew Prof’s secret, and kept it even when Prof struggled to control the effects of his Epic powers. But facing Obliteration in Babilar was too much. Once the Reckoners’ leader, Prof has now embraced his Epic destiny. He’s disappeared into those murky shadows of menace Epics are infamous for the world over, and everyone knows there’s no turning back...

But everyone is wrong. Redemption is possible for Epics—Megan proved it. They’re not lost. Not completely. And David is just about crazy enough to face down the most powerful High Epic of all to get his friend back. Or die trying.

5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh eARC {4 Stars}

Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh is a sci-fi thriller stand alone that is perfect for when you want a completely engrossing and fast-paced read that will keep you hooked to the very end. The premise fascinated me and I loved trying to guess what was really going on with these spheres of different colors that just randomly popped into existence a while ago. Fans of Illuminae, don’t miss this one!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Burning Midnight from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh eARC {4 Stars}

Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh
Published by Delacorte on Feb. 2nd, 2016
Genres: Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 320 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn’t pay much—Alex Holliday’s stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers—but it helps him and his mom make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-colored spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at math, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement—and the more expensive the sphere.

When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. One day they find a Gold—a color no one has ever seen. And when Alex Holliday learns what they have, he will go to any lengths, will use all of his wealth and power, to take it from them.

There’s no question the Gold is priceless, but what does it actually do? None of them is aware of it yet, but the fate of the world rests on this little golden orb. Because all the world fights over the spheres, but no one knows where they come from, what their powers are, or why they’re here.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey eARC {3 Stars}

The Girl at Midnight is a story of feathered and scaled beings living hidden alongside humans and the human girl that ends up in the middle of a war. While I initially thought The Girl at Midnight would be very atmospheric and mysterious, it turned out to be a pretty straightforward quest for the item of ultimate power that would save everything with some really age inappropriate romance thrown in for good measure. I had extremely high expectations for The Girl at Midnight, so I am definitely disappointed that it ended up being not AMAZING, but it is still a fun YA fantasy that could develop into a cool series.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Girl at Midnight from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey eARC {3 Stars}

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight #1)
Published by Delacorte on April 28th, 2015
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 368 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton Audiobook {4 Stars}

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton is a story of friendship, betrayal, and coming back from life-shattering events. Seeker is also a book that is hard to pin into a genre since it takes place in a near-future possibly-alternative world with weapons that the characters don’t fully understand. Therefore there seems to be some magic thrown in with the sci-fi setting, though isn’t technology that you don’t understand basically magic anyway? Seeker is a book that doesn’t spoon feed information about how things work, so if you don’t like being confused, you might not enjoy it much. However, I loved discovering the world slowly while watching these three young heroes work through some serious damage in sometimes self-destructive ways. I just love broken characters too though ;-). Also the narrator freaking rocks!

Note: I received an audio copy of Seeker from the publisher. Listening to a book definitely changes my experiences with it!

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton Audiobook {4 Stars}

Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton
Narrated by Katharine McEwan
(Seeker #1)
Published by Delacorte on Feb. 10th, 2015
Genres: Genre-bender, Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 448 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin's new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson ARC {4 Stars}

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson continues the Reckoners series by telling the story of what happens after you face down with a demi-god of a super villain. There will be spoilers below for Steelheart, so check out my review of that instead if you want to be safe! I’ll be honest that Firefight was a weird book for me. I loved Steelheart so much and have such trust in Sanderson that I was expecting a whole hell of a lot. Firefight didn’t quite deliver, hence why I’m writing this review so long after reading I suspect, but Firefight was still a good book. Once I got halfway through, things were rolling, it was just getting to that point that was a struggle. Also omg I need Calamity NOW!

Note: I borrowed an advanced copy of Firefight. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson ARC {4 Stars}

Firefight by Brandon Sanderson (Reckoners #2)
Published by Delacorte on Jan. 6th, 2015
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 416 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

They told David it was impossible--that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet, Steelheart--invincible, immortal, unconquerable--is dead. And he died by David's hand.

Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life more simple. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And there's no one in Newcago who can give him the answers he needs.

Babylon Restored, the old borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic, Regalia, David is sure Babylon Restored will lead him to what he needs to find. And while entering another city oppressed by a High Epic despot is a gamble, David's willing to risk it. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David's heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic--Firefight. And he's willing to go on a quest darker, and more dangerous even, than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay eARC {4 Stars}

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay tells the story of Sleeping Beauty’s daughter who is blessed with fairy gifts much MUCH different than her mother’s and must use them to win back her kingdom and save the world from a hundred years of darkness and suffering. Aurora, Ror, has gifts that include strength, dexterity, and mercy, making her a badass princess warrior! She also looks boyish enough that I was actually convinced of a girl-disguised-as-boy plot line :D. Besides Ror’s awesomeness, Princess of Thorns drew me in with a really beautiful and scary new fantasy world making me a little sad that this isn’t a series >.>. Companion book please???

Note: I received an advanced copy of Princess of Thorns from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay eARC {4 Stars}

Princess of Thorns by Stacey Jay
Published by Delacorte on Dec. 9th, 2014
Genres: Fairytale Retelling, Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Though she looks like a mere mortal, Princess Aurora is a fairy blessed with enhanced strength, bravery, and mercy yet cursed to destroy the free will of any male who kisses her. Disguised as a boy, she enlists the help of the handsome but also cursed Prince Niklaas to fight legions of evil and free her brother from the ogre queen who stole Aurora's throne ten years ago.

Will Aurora triumph over evil and reach her brother before it's too late? Can Aurora and Niklaas break the curses that will otherwise forever keep them from finding their one true love?

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson ARC {4.5 Stars}

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson is a steampunk middle-grade story about a scrappy girl named Piper and a world where forgotten objects from other places fall from the sky as meteors. Yes, you read that right, steampunk + middle grade + meteors of objects from other worlds! I was sucked into The Mark of the Dragonfly from the very beginning and absolutely adored it. If you enjoy middle-grade that still has an intriguing world and plot, then look no further than The Mark of the Dragonfly!

Note: I received The Mark of the Dragonfly through Netgalley for an honest review. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson ARC {4.5 Stars}

The Mark of the Dragonfly by Jaleigh Johnson
Published by Delacorte on March 25th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, MG, Steampunk
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Piper has never seen the Mark of the Dragonfly until she finds the girl amid the wreckage of a caravan in the Meteor Fields.

The girl doesn't remember a thing about her life, but the intricate tattoo on her arm is proof that she's from the Dragonfly Territories and that she's protected by the king. Which means a reward for Piper if she can get the girl home.

The one sure way to the Territories is the 401, a great old beauty of a train. But a ticket costs more coin than Piper could make in a year. And stowing away is a difficult prospect--everyone knows that getting past the peculiar green-eyed boy who stands guard is nearly impossible.

Life for Piper just turned dangerous. A little bit magical. And very exciting, if she can manage to survive the journey.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Enders by Lissa Price eARC {4 Stars}

Enders by Lissa Price continues Callie’s story as she deals with a chip in her head, a secret organization out to control her, and just wanting to give her baby brother the family and home he has lost. Enders picked up quickly days after that amazing ending of Starters and the action never let up. Mysteries pile on top of mysteries and I honestly don’t know how Callie managed to push through it all. Callie continues to be a great no-nonsense heroine, though with a few more guys entering her life just to make things complicated ;-). Basically, if you liked Starters, I have no idea how you could resist picking up Enders.

Note: I received an eARC of Enders through Netgalley for an honest review. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Enders by Lissa Price eARC {4 Stars}

Enders by Lissa Price (Starters #2)
Published by Delacorte on Jan 7th, 2014
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 288 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

With the Prime Destinations body bank destroyed, Callie no longer has to rent herself out to creepy Enders. But Enders can still get inside her mind and make her do things she doesn't want to do. Like hurt someone she loves. Having the chip removed could save Callie's life - but it could also silence the voice in her head that might belong to her father. Callie has flashes of her ex-renter Helena's memories, too ...and the Old Man is back, filling her with fear. Who is real and who is masquerading in a teen body? This is the thrilling sequel to "Starters".

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Starters by Lissa Price {4.5 Stars}

Starters by Lissa Price tells the story of what might happen if an entire generation of adults was wiped out in the United States due to biological warfare. Callie’s parents were killed years ago and now she must make impossible decisions to keep her brother alive and safe. Starters has the excellent combination of a fairly plausible dystopian premise with delicious plot twists and ethical dilemmas like all good sci-fi requires ;-). I definitely should have gotten to this book sooner, but better late than never right?

Note: I borrowed Starters from my library; go libraries!

Starters by Lissa Price {4.5 Stars}

Starters by Lissa Price (Starters #1)
Published by Delacorte on March 13th, 2012
Genres: Dystopia, Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 352 pages
How I got my copy: Borrowed
IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

HER WORLD IS CHANGED FOREVER

Callie lost her parents when the Spore Wars wiped out everyone between the ages of twenty and sixty. She and her little brother, Tyler, go on the run, living as squatters with their friend Michael and fighting off renegades who would kill them for a cookie. Callie's only hope is Prime Destinations, a disturbing place in Beverly Hills run by a mysterious figure known as the Old Man.

He hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders—seniors who want to be young again. Callie, desperate for the money that will keep her, Tyler, and Michael alive, agrees to be a donor. But the neurochip they place in Callie's head malfunctions and she wakes up in the life of her renter, living in her mansion, driving her cars, and going out with a senator's grandson. It feels almost like a fairy tale, until Callie discovers that her renter intends to do more than party—and that Prime Destinations' plans are more evil than Callie could ever have imagined. . . .

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]