Image Map

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab {4 Stars}

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab {4 Stars}

A Conjuring of Light by Victoria Schwab (Shades of Magic #3)
Published by Tor Books on Feb. 21st, 2017
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Page Length: 624 pages
How I got my copy: Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Witness the fate of beloved heroes - and enemies.

THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED...

The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.

WHO WILL CRUMBLE?
Kell - once assumed to be the last surviving Antari - begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?

WHO WILL RISE?
Lila Bard, once a commonplace - but never common - thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.

WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?
And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn {4 Stars}

Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn {4 Stars}

Martians Abroad by Carrie Vaughn
Published by Tor Books on January 17th, 2017
Genres: Adult, Sci-fi
Page Length: 288 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

A great new stand-alone science fiction novel from the author of the Kitty Norville series.

Polly Newton has one single-minded dream, to be a starship pilot and travel the galaxy. Her mother, the director of the Mars Colony, derails Polly's plans when she sends Polly and her genius twin brother, Charles, to Galileo Academy on Earth—the one planet Polly has no desire to visit. Ever.

Homesick and cut off from her desired future, Polly cannot seem to fit into the constraints of life on Earth, unlike Charles, who deftly maneuvers around people and sees through their behavior to their true motives. Strange, unexplained, dangerous coincidences centered on their high-profile classmates begin piling up. Charles may be right—there's more going on than would appear, and the stakes are high. With the help of Charles, Polly is determined to find the truth, no matter the cost.

4 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Martians Abroad from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Arcanum Unbounded by Brandon Sanderson {4 Stars}

Arcanum Unbounded by Brandon Sanderson {4 Stars}

Arcanum Unbounded by Brandon Sanderson
Published by Tor Books on Nov. 22nd, 2016
Genres: Fantasy
Page Length: 672 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Brandon Sanderson's first story collection: novellas and short stories set in the Shardworlds, the worlds of Stormlight, Mistborn, Elantris, and more.

An all-new Stormlight Archive novella will be the crown jewel of Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection, the first book of short fiction by #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson.

The collection will include eight works in all. The first seven are:
“The Hope of Elantris” (Elantris)
“The Eleventh Metal” (Mistborn)
“The Emperor's Soul” (Elantris)
“Allomancer Jak and the Pits of Eltania, Epsiodes 28 through 30” (Mistborn)
“Shadows for Silence in the Forests of Hell” (Threnody)
“Sixth of Dusk” (First of the Sun)
“Mistborn: Secret History” (Mistborn)

Originally published on Tor.com and other websites, or published by the author, these wonderful tales convey the expanse of the Shardworlds and tell exciting tales of adventure Sanderson fans have come to expect, including the Hugo Award-winning novella, “The Emperor's Soul.”

Arcanum Unbounded will also contain a currently untitled Stormlight Archive novella which will appear in this book for the first time anywhere.

4 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Arcanum Unbounded from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Hope of Elantris: Elantris is my hands-down favorite Sanderson book so I was unbelievably pumped to see more of that city. It’s been about three years since I read it, however, so I was grateful for the reminders snuck in here and there. I thought this story was a nice addition to the novel, but not a necessity to read. It did make me want to reread Elantris though!
[Read more…]

The Librarians and the Lost Lamp by Greg Cox ARC {3.5 Stars}

If you are a fan of the Librarian movie series (staring Noah Wyle) or the television series The Librarians, you should pick up a copy of this first book of a all-new trilogy.  Alternating perspectives, The Lost Lamp follows Flynn’s failed attempt to destroy Aladdin’s lamp, and the not-so-loveable Djinn emprisoned in it, and picks up when the next generation of Librarians encounters the lamp again …. and the group of thieves who want it for their own power-hungry ends.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Librarians and the Lost Lamp from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Librarians and the Lost Lamp by Greg Cox ARC {3.5 Stars}

The Librarians and the Lost Lamp by Greg Cox (The Librarians #1)
Published by Tor Books on October 11, 2016
Genres: MG, Urban Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 286 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The story toggles between the past, as Flynn Carsen tries to find Aladdin’s Lamp before an ancient criminal organization known as the Forty Seals gets hold of it, and the future, when Eve Baird and a new group of Librarians — protectors of ancient artifacts like King Arthur’s sword Excalibur — stumble on a mystery in Las Vegas that seems to relate to the Lamp and the powerful djinn it can summon.

3.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson ARC {4 Stars}

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson is the fifth book in the Sentinels of New Orleans series and starts wrapping up the events currently making DJ’s life a bit exciting, but also leaves room for an exciting conclusion! I’ve heartily enjoyed all of these books and firmly recommend you binge read this series!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Belle Chasse from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson ARC {4 Stars}

Belle Chasse by Suzanne Johnson (Sentinels of New Orleans #5)
Published by Tor Books on Nov. 8th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

With the wizard-elven treaty on the verge of collapse, the preternatural world stands on the brink of war. Unless former wizard sentinel DJ Jaco manages to keep the elven leader, Quince Randolph, focused on peace and not personal matters.

With no one on the throne, Faerie is in chaos, with rival princes battling for power. The still-undead pirate, Jean Lafitte, is building his own army of misfits, and DJ—stripped of her job and hiding in the Beyond to avoid the death sentence handed down by the wizard Council of Elders—can’t get anywhere near her beloved New Orleans or her significant something-or-other, Alex.

It's time to choose sides. Friends will become enemies, enemies will become allies, and not everyone will survive. DJ and her friends will learn a hard lesson: sometimes, even the ultimate sacrifice isn’t enough.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal is a book that will instantly grab attention with that gorgeous cover and then intrigue you with the idea of mediums being used to gather intelligence from soldiers after they die. I am already impressed with how the mediums are involved in military operations and definitely want to read more.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Ghost Talkers from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal {Just Hatched}

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal
Published by Tor Books on Aug. 16th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Historical Fantasy, Military Fantasy
Page Length: 304 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Ginger Stuyvesant, an American heiress living in London during World War I, is engaged to Captain Benjamin Harford, an intelligence officer. Ginger is a medium for the Spirit Corps, a special Spiritualist force.

Each soldier heading for the front is conditioned to report to the mediums of the Spirit Corps when they die so the Corps can pass instant information about troop movements to military intelligence.

Ginger and her fellow mediums contribute a great deal to the war efforts, so long as they pass the information through appropriate channels. While Ben is away at the front, Ginger discovers the presence of a traitor. Without the presence of her fiance to validate her findings, the top brass thinks she's just imagining things. Even worse, it is clear that the Spirit Corps is now being directly targeted by the German war effort. Left to her own devices, Ginger has to find out how the Germans are targeting the Spirit Corps and stop them. This is a difficult and dangerous task for a woman of that era, but this time both the spirit and the flesh are willing…

4 Stars

[Read more…]

The Accidental Highwayman by Ben Tripp Audiobook {3 Stars}

The Accidental Highwayman by Ben Tripp is a book I had my eye on for a long time. It is a strange fantasy that wanders and pulls on classic fantasy tropes like fairy princesses and witches and things. I had hoped to love it from the title (the full title is The Accidental Highwayman: Being the Tale of Kit Bristol, His Horse Midnight, a Mysterious Princess, and Sundry Magical Persons Besides), but didn’t find the humor that I had been expecting and got annoyed with the amount the plot wandered. It reminded me a lot of Stardust by Gaiman though, so if you liked that one, maybe try this?

The Accidental Highwayman by Ben Tripp Audiobook {3 Stars}

The Accidental Highwayman by Ben Tripp
Narrated by Steve West

Published by Tor Books on Oct. 14th, 2014
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Page Length: 304 pages
Audio Length: 9 hrs and 56 mins
How I got my copy: Borrowed
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The Accidental Highwayman is the first swashbuckling adventure for young adults by talented author and illustrator, Ben Tripp.

In eighteenth-century England, young Christopher "Kit" Bristol is the unwitting servant of notorious highwayman Whistling Jack. One dark night, Kit finds his master bleeding from a mortal wound, dons the man's riding cloak to seek help, and changes the course of his life forever. Mistaken for Whistling Jack and on the run from redcoats, Kit is catapulted into a world of magic and wonders he thought the stuff of fairy tales.
Bound by magical law, Kit takes up his master's quest to rescue a rebellious fairy princess from an arranged marriage to King George III of England. But his task is not an easy one, for Kit must contend with the feisty Princess Morgana, gobling attacks, and a magical map that portends his destiny: as a hanged man upon the gallows….
Fans of classic fairy-tale fantasies will find much to love in this irresistible YA debut by Ben Tripp, the son of one of America's most beloved illustrators, Wallace Tripp (Amelia Bedelia). Following in his father's footsteps, Ben has woven illustrations throughout the story.

3 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Too Like the Lightning is a book I really had no idea about except that it would obviously have sci-fi aspects given that awesome cover with spaceships. However, what I found when I cracked this lovely book open is a sci-fi that dares to break the mold with language reminiscent of the Enlightenment (and an author that explains why immediately) and a first page that details which committees granted permission for this book to be published and its ratings according to the Gordian Exposure Commission.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Too Like the Lightning from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer {Just Hatched}

Too Like the Lightning by Ada Palmer (Terra Ignota #1)
Published by Tor Books on May 10th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Sci-fi
Page Length: 432 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Mycroft Canner is a convict. For his crimes he is required, as is the custom of the 25th century, to wander the world being as useful as he can to all he meets. Carlyle Foster is a sensayer–a spiritual counselor in a world that has outlawed the public practice of religion, but which also knows that the inner lives of humans cannot be wished away.

The world into which Mycroft and Carlyle have been born is as strange to our 21st-century eyes as ours would be to a native of the 1500s. It is a hard-won utopia built on technologically-generated abundance, and also on complex and mandatory systems of labeling all public writing and speech. What seem to us normal gender distinctions are now distinctly taboo in most social situations. And most of the world’s population is affiliated with globe-girdling clans of the like-minded, whose endless economic and cultural competition is carefully managed by central planners of inestimable subtlety. To us it seems like a mad combination of heaven and hell. To them, it seems like normal life.

And in this world, Mycroft and Carlyle have stumbled on the wild card that may destabilize the system: the boy Bridger, who can effortlessly make his wishes come true. Who can, it would seem, bring inanimate objects to life…

4 Stars

[Read more…]

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders Audiobook {4 Stars}

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders is a unique reading experience. I have read a lot of sci-fi and fantasy over the years, and I can still say that this is a book unlike any I’ve read before. It blends subtle magic and sci-fi together with delightfully imperfect characters for a story of the apocalypse that somehow manages to be fresh and original. The audiobook is quite good as well, so if you are looking for a new listen, this is one to consider.

Note: I received an advanced copy of All the Birds in the Sky from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders Audiobook {4 Stars}

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
Narrated by Alyssa Bresnahan

Published by Tor Books on Jan. 26th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Contemporary Fantasy, Sci-fi
Page Length: 316 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Childhood friends Patricia Delfine and Laurence Armstead didn't expect to see each other again, after parting ways under mysterious circumstances during high school. After all, the development of magical powers and the invention of a two-second time machine could hardly fail to alarm one's peers and families.

But now they're both adults, living in the hipster mecca San Francisco, and the planet is falling apart around them. Laurence is an engineering genius who's working with a group that aims to avert catastrophic breakdown through technological intervention into the changing global climate. Patricia is a graduate of Eltisley Maze, the hidden academy for the world's magically gifted, and works with a small band of other magicians to secretly repair the world's ever-growing ailments. Little do they realize that something bigger than either of them, something begun years ago in their youth, is determined to bring them together--to either save the world, or plunge it into a new dark ages.

A deeply magical, darkly funny examination of life, love, and the apocalypse.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

I’m about a hundred pages into this well-written novel of political intrigue and simmering rebellion.  It features a strong and highly intelligent young woman, Baru Cormorant, born on a peaceful, tropical island that was conquered during her early childhood.  She studies hard at the imperial school with the intent of changing the system from within …. in direct conflict with her strong, warrior mother who believes that more direct measures will be necessary.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Traitor Baru Cormorant from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson {Just Hatched}

The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
Published by Tor Books on September 15th 2015
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Page Length: 399 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT is an epic geopolitical fantasy about one woman's mission to tear down an empire by learning how to rule it.

Tomorrow, on the beach, Baru Cormorant will look up from the sand of her home and see red sails on the horizon.

The Empire of Masks is coming, armed with coin and ink, doctrine and compass, soap and lies. They'll conquer Baru’s island, rewrite her culture, criminalize her customs, and dispose of one of her fathers. But Baru is patient. She'll swallow her hate, prove her talent, and join the Masquerade. She will learn the secrets of empire. She’ll be exactly what they need. And she'll claw her way high enough up the rungs of power to set her people free.

In a final test of her loyalty, the Masquerade will send Baru to bring order to distant Aurdwynn, a snakepit of rebels, informants, and seditious dukes. Aurdwynn kills everyone who tries to rule it. To survive, Baru will need to untangle this land’s intricate web of treachery - and conceal her attraction to the dangerously fascinating Duchess Tain Hu.

But Baru is a savant in games of power, as ruthless in her tactics as she is fixated on her goals. In the calculus of her schemes, all ledgers must be balanced, and the price of liberation paid in full.

2 Stars

[Read more…]