Image Map

Roar by Cora Carmack ARC {3 Stars}

Roar by Cora Carmack ARC {3 Stars}

Roar by Cora Carmack (Stormheart #1)
Published by Tor Teen on June 13th, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 380 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.

Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.

Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage.

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough.

Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

3 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Roar from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Thoughts:
[Read more…]

Windwitch by Susan Dennard ARC {3 Stars}

Windwitch by Susan Dennard ARC {3 Stars}

Windwitch by Susan Dennard (The Witchlands #2)
Published by Tor Teen on Jan. 10th, 2017
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.

3 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Windwitch from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly {4 Stars}

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly {4 Stars}

Seriously Shifted by Tina Connolly (Seriously Wicked #2)
Published by Tor Teen on Nov. 1st, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 240 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Teenage witch Cam isn’t crazy about the idea of learning magic. She’d rather be no witch than a bad one. But when a trio of her mother’s wicked witch friends decide to wreak havoc in her high school, Cam has no choice but to try to stop them.

Esmerelda is the mean girl of the witches. Valda likes to drop anvils on people’s heads. And Malkin—well, Malkin is just plain terrifying. Their idea of fun is a little game—they each pick a student from Cam’s high school and compete to see who can make their teen the most miserable. But Cam suspects one of the witches may have an ulterior motive…which means someone at school could be in worse danger yet.

Now Cam’s learning invisibility spells, dodging exploding cars, and pondering the ethics of love potions. All while trying to keep her grades up and go on a first date with her crush. If the witches don’t get him first, that is.

Can’t a good witch ever catch a break?

4 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of Seriously Shifted from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Steeplejack by A.J. Hartley ARC {4.5 Stars}

Steeplejack by A. J. Hartley is the story of a young woman struggling to make ends meet in a place similar to South Africa in our world, but with just a bit of magic thrown in. I feel like Steeplejack is a direct answer to our demand for more diverse characters in fantasy, while also being an addictive and action-packed read. I was really happy I had an entire day to do nothing but read, since I didn’t want to stop for a minute!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Steeplejack from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Steeplejack by A.J. Hartley ARC {4.5 Stars}

Steeplejack by A. J. Hartley (Alternative Detective #1)
Published by Tor Teen on June 14th, 2016
Genres: Historical Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Seventeen-year-old Anglet Sutonga, Ang for short, repairs the chimneys, towers, and spires of Bar-Selehm, the ethnically-diverse industrial capital of a land resembling Victorian South Africa. The city was built on the trade of luxorite, a priceless glowing mineral. When the Beacon, a historical icon made of luxorite, is stolen, it makes the headlines. But no one cares about the murder of Ang's new apprentice, Berrit—except for Josiah Willinghouse, an enigmatic young politician, who offers Ang a job investigating Berrit's death. On top of this, Ang struggles with the responsibility of caring for her sister's newborn child.

As political secrets unfold and racial tensions surrounding the Beacon's theft rise, Ang navigates the constricting traditions of her people, the murderous intentions of her former boss, and the conflicting impulses of a fledgling romance. With no one to help her except a savvy newspaper girl and a kindhearted herder from the savannah, Ang must resolve the mysterious link between Berrit and the missing Beacon before the city is plunged into chaos.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Riders by Veronica Rossi {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Riders by Veronica Rossi caught my attention for two reasons: the unique premise of the four horsemen in a YA novel and the return of Rossi after her previous trilogy, Under the Never Sky, which I quite enjoyed!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Riders from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Riders by Veronica Rossi {Just Hatched}

Riders by Veronica Rossi (Riders #1)
Published by Tor Teen on Feb. 16th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Nothing but death can keep eighteen-year-old Gideon Blake from achieving his goal of becoming a U.S. Army Ranger. As it turns out, it does.

While recovering from the accident that most definitely killed him, Gideon finds himself with strange new powers and a bizarre cuff he can’t remove. His death has brought to life his real destiny. He has become War, one of the legendary four horsemen of the apocalypse.

Over the coming weeks, he and the other horsemen—Conquest, Famine, and Death—are brought together by a beautiful but frustratingly secretive girl to help save humanity from an ancient evil on the emergence.

They fail.

Now—bound, bloodied, and drugged—Gideon is interrogated by the authorities about his role in a battle that has become an international incident. If he stands any chance of saving his friends and the girl he’s fallen for—not to mention all of humankind—he needs to convince the skeptical government officials the world is in imminent danger.

But will anyone believe him?

3 Stars

[Read more…]

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard ARC {4 Stars}

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard is a new YA fantasy that has been majorly hyped over the last months and I’m happy to report that I do think it deserved it! Take a cool magic system and combine it with a plot based on two friends instead of a romance, and I’m a pretty darn satisfied customer. If you enjoy your fantasy with lots of action and magic, definitely give this new series a try.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Truthwitch from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard ARC {4 Stars}

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard (The Witchlands #1)
Published by Tor Teen on Jan. 5th, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 416 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly ARC {4.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly is the first in a new series about a girl just trying to survive high school while balancing cleaning out the dragon’s muck in the morning and keeping her witch caretaker from showing up to parent-teacher conferences. Seriously Wicked is much lighter than Connolly’s previous series, but it is perfect when you just want to laugh and reminisce about the first seasons of Buffy ;-). Be sure to check out the end of the post for a giveaway courtesy of Tor Teen!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Seriously Wicked from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly ARC {4.5 Stars} + Giveaway!

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly
Published by Tor Teen on May 5th, 2015
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 208 pages
How I got my copy: NetGalley
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The only thing worse than being a witch is living with one.

Camellia’s adopted mother wants Cam to grow up to be just like her. Problem is, Mom’s a seriously wicked witch.

Cam’s used to stopping the witch’s crazy schemes for world domination. But when the witch summons a demon, he gets loose—and into Devon, the cute new boy at school.

Now Cam’s suddenly got bigger problems than passing Algebra. Her friends are getting zombiefied. Their dragon is tired of hiding in the RV garage. For being a shy boy-band boy, Devon is sure kissing a bunch of girls. And a phoenix hidden in the school is going to explode on the night of the Halloween Dance.

To stop the demon before he destroys Devon’s soul, Cam might have to try a spell of her own. But if she’s willing to work spells like the witch...will that mean she’s wicked too?

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons is a pretty hyped book and I was excited to get my hands on a copy. I had actually been planning on trying to read the whole thing but found I just wasn’t in the mood for the tone so instead it gets to be my first Just Hatched! I read 8% of The Glass Arrow, which is actually a fair bit more than the first chapter, but I was stuck waiting for a prescription to fill so what else was I to do? ;-)

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Glass Arrow from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons {Just Hatched}

The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons
Published by Tor Teen on Feb. 10th, 2015
Genres: Dystopia, YA
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

[Read more…]