Image Map

White Hot by Ilona Andrews eARC {5 Stars}

White Hot by Ilona Andrews eARC {5 Stars}

White Hot by Ilona Andrews (Hidden Legacy #2)
Published by Avon on May 30th, 2017
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 416 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The Hidden Legacy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews continues as Nevada and Rogan navigate a world where magic is the norm…and their relationship burns hot

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

5 Stars

Note: I received an advanced copy of White Hot from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu eARC {4.5 Stars}

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu and illustrated by Sana Takeda is a graphic novel I have wanted to read since I first heard of it over a year ago. I patiently waited for a physical volume to be released because my library didn’t get the electronic releases as they came out and I’m so glad I waited and could binge the whole first volume all at once. This novel is everything I hoped with gorgeous art, a terrifying but amazing world, and dark but strong characters. There are also a few jokes and happy moments to make things better :D.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Monstress from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu eARC {4.5 Stars}

Monstress: Awakening by Marjorie M. Liu, Sana Takeda (Monstress Vol #1)
Published by Image Comics on Nov. 4th, 2015
Genres: Adult, Dark Fantasy, Graphic Novel
Page Length: 72 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Steampunk meets Kaiju in this original fantasy epic for mature readers, as young Maika risks everything to control her psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, placing her in the center of a devastating war between human and otherworldly forces.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power eARC {3.5 Stars}

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power is a story about survival, revenge and dragons. This is one of those books where the comparisons seem pretty accurate (George RR Martin and Naomi Novik) though I’d throw in a Castaway reference too to really round things out. I strangely love stranded and needing to build up structures for long term survival stories (I played a lot of Harvest Moon as a kid okay??), so I really enjoyed that aspect that you don’t find a lot in fantasy books. Plus, you know, dragons!

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Dragon Round from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power eARC {3.5 Stars}

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power
Published by Simon & Schuster on July 19th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.

He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.

Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary “the captain’s chance”: a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea.

Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn’t as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won't be waiting for him and in order get justice, he’ll have to take it for himself.

3.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May eARC {4 Stars}

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May continues the break-neck adventure started in The Falconer, filled with steampunk and fae goodness along with a bit of supernatural love story. If you loved The Falconer, but didn’t like being tortured with that cliffhanger, I think you are going to quite enjoy continuing the story ;-).

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Vanishing Throne from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May eARC {4 Stars}

The Vanishing Throne by Elizabeth May (The Falconer #2)
Published by Chronicle Books on June 21st, 2016
Genres: Fantasy, Steampunk
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Aileana Kameron, the Falconer, disappeared through the portal that she was trying to close forever. Now she wakes up in the fae world, trapped and tortured by the evil Lonnrach. With the help of an unexpected ally, Aileana re-enters the human world, only to find everything irrevocably changed. Edinburgh has been destroyed, and the few human survivors are living in an uneasy truce with the fae, while both worlds are in danger of disappearing altogether. Aileana holds the key to saving both worlds, but in order to do so she must awaken her latent Falconer powers. And the price of doing that might be her life.

Rich with imaginative detail, action, fae lore, and romance, The Vanishing Throne is a thrilling sequel to The Falconer.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

In the Shadow of Bound Gods by Rachel Dunne {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

In the Shadow of the Gods by Rachel Dunne promises to be an epic fantasy on the darker side, but with anti-heroes that win over your heart despite themselves. I’m a sucker for dead god premises, so I am definitely intrigued right from the start.

Note: I received an advanced copy of In the Shadow of the Gods from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

In the Shadow of Bound Gods by Rachel Dunne {Just Hatched}

In the Shadow of the Gods by Rachel Dunne (Bound Gods #1)
Published by Harper Voyager on June 21st, 2016
Genres: Adult, Dark Fantasy
Page Length: 400 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

A breathtaking talent makes her debut with this first book in a dark epic fantasy trilogy, in which a mismatched band of mortals, led by violent, secretive man, must stand against a pair of resentful gods to save their world.

Eons ago, a pair of gods known as the “Twins” grew powerful in the world of Fiatera, until the Divine Mother and Almighty Father exiled them, binding them deep in the earth. But the price of keeping the fire-lands safe is steep. To prevent these young gods from rising again, all twins in the land must be killed at birth, a safeguard that has worked, until now.

Trapped for centuries, the Twins are gathering their latent powers to break free and destroy the Parents for their tyranny—a fight between two generations of gods for control of the world and the mortals who dwell in it.

When the gods make war, only one side can be victorious. Joros, a mysterious and cunning priest, has devised a dangerous plan to win. Over eight years, he gathers a team of disparate fighters—Scal, a lost and damaged swordsman from the North; Vatri, a scarred priestess who claims to see the future in her fires; Anddyr, a drug-addled mage wandering between sanity and madness; and Rora and Aro, a pair of twins who have secretly survived beyond the reach of the law.

These warriors must learn to stand together against the unfathomable power of vengeful gods, to stop them from tearing down the sun . . . and plunging their world into darkness.

3.5 Stars

[Read more…]

Woodwalker by Emily B. Martin {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Woodwalker by Emily B. Martin is a story about a young woman with a special connection to the forest she swore to protect and a queen to help. From first impressions, Woodwalker seems like a pretty straight forward fantasy adventure with a plucky heroine, a bit of interesting magic, and a queendom in need of saving.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Woodwalker from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Woodwalker by Emily B. Martin {Just Hatched}

Woodwalker by Emily B. Martin
Published by Harper Voyager on May 17th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Fantasy
Page Length: 336 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

“What on earth would I gain from that?” I asked him. “Risk my own neck by violating my banishment just to leave you? The sentence placed on me if I return is execution. If I’m entering the mountains again, I’d damn well better get something out of it.”

Exiled from the Silverwood and the people she loves, Mae has few illusions about ever returning to her home. But when she comes across three out-of-place strangers in her wanderings, she finds herself contemplating the unthinkable: risking death to help a deposed queen regain her throne.

And if anyone can help Mona Alastaire of Lumen Lake, it is a former Woodwalker—a ranger whose very being is intimately tied to the woods they are sworn to protect. Mae was once one of the best, and despite the potential of every tree limb to become the gibbet she’s hung from, she not only feels a duty to aide Mona and her brothers, but also to walk beneath her beloved trees once more.

A grand quest in the tradition of great epic fantasies, filled with adventure and the sharp wit—and tongue—of a unique hero,Woodwalker is the perfect novel to start your own journey into the realm of magical fiction.

2 Stars

[Read more…]

Elixir by Ruth Vincent {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Elixir by Ruth Vincent is a new urban fantasy series with a twist. Mabily is a quieter heroine than you usually find in this genre and she seems to be living the typical 20-something life of finishing her education and trying to find a job and make a difference. I’m definitely excited to get back and finish this one and recommend you give it a look!

Note: I received an advanced copy of Elixir from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Elixir by Ruth Vincent {Just Hatched}

Elixir by Ruth Vincent (A Changeling PI Novel #1)
Published by Harper Voyager on May 3rd, 2016
Genres: Adult, Urban Fantasy
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

Mabily “Mab” Jones is just a twenty-something, over-educated, under-employed New Yorker trying to survive as a private eye’s unpaid intern . . . or is she? Once a powerful fairy, but tricked by the Fairy Queen into human form, Mab is forced to face her changeling past when investigating a missing person case at a modern speakeasy.

Obadiah Savage bootlegs fairy Elixir to human customers thirsting for a magical fix. But when Mab and Obadiah become joint suspects in a crime they didn’t commit, the only way to prove their innocence is to travel back to the fairy realm. And when Mab confronts the Fairy Queen and learns the depth of her betrayal, she must decide if the fate of the fey world is worth destroying the lives of the humans she’s come to love.

4 Stars

[Read more…]

A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn {4 Stars}

A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn is a book that has been on my shelf for a looooooong time. I was so excited when Christina @ Christina Read YA wanted to buddy read it, since it made me finally get off my butt and grab this gorgeous book off the shelf! I knew that there was a high chance I’d love it given opinions I’d heard and the dragon on the cover, and it ended up being just the right book for my mood, full of atmospheric and creepy forests, strange but brave young girls, and dragons!

A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn {4 Stars}

A Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on May 6th, 2014
Genres: Fantasy, MG
Page Length: 313 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss, Purchased
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

A stunning debut novel about a girl who is half dragon, half human, and wholly herself.

As the only heir to the throne, Marni should have been surrounded by wealth and privilege, not living in exile-but now the time has come when she must choose between claiming her birthright as princess of a realm whose king wants her dead, and life with the father she has never known: a wild dragon who is sending his magical woods to capture her.

4 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]

Dissension by Stacey Berg {Just Hatched}

Just Hatched Book Feature

Just Hatched is a feature where I share my first impressions of a book after the first chapter. Check out the announcement post for more information.

Dissension by Stacey Berg is a sci-fi dystopian that takes the dystopia idea to the max with a realistic portrayal of how society might attempt to endure. Add on a same-sex romance and a kick-butt heroine and I can’t recommend this enough. I will definitely be reading the rest asap.

Note: I received an advanced copy of Dissension from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

Dissension by Stacey Berg {Just Hatched}

Dissension by Stacey Berg (Echo Hunter 367 #1)
Published by Harper Voyager on March 15th, 2016
Genres: Adult, Dystopia, Sci-fi
Page Length: 384 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

For four hundred years, the Church has led the remnants of humanity as they struggle for survival in the last inhabited city. Echo Hunter 367 is exactly what the Church created her to be: loyal, obedient, lethal. A clone who shouldn’t care about anything but her duty. Who shouldn’t be able to.

When rebellious citizens challenge the Church’s authority, it is Echo’s duty to hunt them down before civil war can tumble the city back into the dark. But Echo hides a deadly secret: doubt. And when Echo’s mission leads her to Lia, a rebel leader who has a secret of her own, Echo is forced to face that doubt. For Lia holds the key to the city’s survival, and Echo must choose between the woman she loves and the purpose she was born to fulfill.

4.5 Stars

[Read more…]

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig eARC {4.5 Stars}

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig is a beautiful story of a girl and her father struggling to connect with each other while adventuring through time and space. I had really no idea what to expect going in to this book and I was blown away by the poetry of the writing that combined wonderfully with the seafaring Hawaii setting. If you like time travel done well, lyrical writing, and a strong female MC who dreams of captaining her own ship, don’t miss this one.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Girl From Everywhere from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig eARC {4.5 Stars}

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (The Girl From Everywhere #1)
Published by Greenwillow on Feb. 16th, 2016
Genres: Contemporary Fantasy, Historical Fantasy, YA
Page Length: 464 pages
How I got my copy: Edelweiss
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer.

Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times - although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix's father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix's existence rather dangerously in question...

Nix has grown used to her father's obsession, but only because she's convinced it can't work. But then a map falls into her father's lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it's that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.

4.5 Stars

Strengths:
[Read more…]