Image Map

The Last Star by Rick Yancey Audiobook {5 Stars}

The Last Star by Rick Yancey is a fantastic conclusion to a fantastic trilogy. There is really no way to talk about this book without spoiling the previous ones, so if you haven’t read The 5th Wave yet, check out my review and get on that! Now that it’s just us insiders here, trust that you should take a vacation day because you aren’t going to want to put this book down.

Note: I received an advanced copy of The Last Star from the publisher. Some things may have changed in the final version.

The Last Star by Rick Yancey Audiobook {5 Stars}

The Last Star by Rick Yancey
Narrated by Ben Yannette, Phoebe Strole
(The 5th Wave #3)
Published by GP Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on May 24th, 2016
Genres: Post Apocalyptic, Sci-fi, YA
Page Length: 352 pages
Audio Length: 9 hrs and 17 mins
How I got my copy: Publisher
Amazon - IndieBound - Book Depository - Barnes & Noble - Goodreads
Purchases made support this blog

The Last Star is the heart-stopping finale to the bestselling 5th Wave series by award-winning author, Rick Yancey. Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Maze Runner.

'Wildly entertaining . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' The New York Times

We’re here, then we’re gone, and that was true before they came. That’s always been true. The Others didn’t invent death; they just perfected it. Gave death a face to put back in our face, because they knew that was the only way to crush us. It won’t end on any continent or ocean, no mountain or plain, jungle or desert. It will end where it began, where it had been from the beginning, on the battlefield of the last beating human heart.

Master storyteller Rick Yancey invokes triumph, loss, and unrelenting action as the fate of the planet is decided in the conclusion to this epic series.

5 Stars

Strengths:

  • As you would probably expect, The Last Star is action-packed. There is a lot that needs to get done and no time to waste! Cassie’s life can never be easy and this book is no exception. Be prepared for attack at any moment!
  • I read Infinite Sea before it came out last year, so it has been a long while since I thought about this crazy twisty series (with the exception of trying to figure out the differences with the movie). However, I had no trouble sinking back in and remembering all the revelations at the end of Infinite Sea. There are enough clues to refresh your memory.
  • I absolutely love these audiobooks. The first book I had some quibbles with the narration, but The Last Star has fixed all those issues and therefore gets my full endorsement. If you want to catch up or reread, the audiobooks are an excellent choice.
  • After so so long, I’m happy to report that we finally get all the answers! It’ll take a while for you to figure out what those answers are, but they are there.
  • Overall, I found The Last Star to be a satisfying ending to this trilogy. I think fans will love it and it may have some controversy, but as a YA series that constantly pushed the boundaries, this is how it should end.

Weaknesses:

  • The one thing that I wish could have been different is that the same female narrator narrates for Ringer and Cassie and it just sounds weird in my head. Ringer should sound way different than Cassie, ya know? Plus after watching the movie, that actress is now permanently Ringer to me.

Summary:

The Last Star is a book I probably don’t have to tell you to read. If you’ve loved the first two books, you will be compelled to pick this one up. If for some reason you are on the fence, yes, you should read this! Now let’s all discuss :D.

Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings

Have you read this one? What did you think? Are you excited for it if you haven’t gotten to it yet?
– Anya

 

 The Last Star by Rick Yancey

© 2016, Anya. All rights reserved.

Don't Miss a Post

No spam guarantee.

Comments

  1. I have The 5th Wave on my bookshelf and haven’t gotten to it yet (I have to finish all the requested reviews first), but now I can’t wait to get through the whole series!

Trackbacks

  1. […] The Last Star by Rick Yancey Audiobook {5 Stars} […]

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge