Image Map

The Rogue Retrieval Guest Post and Giveaway! (INT)

The Rogue Retrieval Guest Post

5 Kinds of Geeky Sci-fi Tech in The Rogue Retrieval

Today I’m very excited to welcome Dan Koboldt to the blog to show off what you can do with a science education turned to fiction ;-). Don’t miss the giveaway at the bottom that is open internationally! The Rogue Retrieval is out today in ebook.

One of the things I love about writing a portal fantasy is that it lets me borrow aspects of both fantasy and science fiction. The former was important to me because I grew up reading fantasy from the likes of J.R.R. Tolkien, Raymond E. Feist, Tad Williams, and Robert Jordan. They’re the reason I dreamed of becoming an author. But I also grew up to be a scientist – a genetics researcher – and writing across genres lets me incorporate some of that as well. Here are five bits of geeky sci-fi that you’ll find in The Rogue Retrieval.

  1. High-tech magic tricks

Technology has changed so much in our modern world, and the tricks of professional stage magicians are no exception. Quinn Bradley, the hero of my book, has an engineering background. His illusions use everything from electromagnets and LEDs to 3D printing technology. He still practices many of the fundamentals, like misdirection and sleight of hand, but modern tech lets him take it to the next level.

  1. A plasma deflector shield

The retrieval team in my book has the backing of a large corporation, which gives them access to proprietary technology not available to the general public. I’m talking about stuff that’s still in the R&D lab. One example of this is a portable defensive shield of charged plasma. Sure, this might be inspired by the deflector shield that protects the Death Star in the Return of the Jedi, but this is also a developing real-world technology that aerospace company Boeing patented last year.

Note: Any similarities between CASE Global Enterprises (the fictitious company in my book) and real-world corporations are purely coincidental!

  1. Holographic projections

I love how the technology for holograms and projected images has evolved over the past couple of decades. Holographic night lights and clocks are everywhere. Movies, video games, and other forms of media are increasingly three-dimensional. I won’t reveal how it features in my book, because spoilers, but let’s just say that holograms have a lot of appeal for a modern illusionist.

  1. Modern takes on medieval weapons

I love the warfare from the Middle Ages, things like bows and swords and suits of armor. All of these were eventually rendered obsolete by (among other things) the invention of the flintlock musket. Imagine if we saw a return to hand-to-hand combat with swords and other hand weapons. Back then, a suit of plate armor might weigh 30-50 pounds, and a steel longsword another 3-5 pounds.

Now we have Kevlar and other synthetic fibers, as well as graphite and metal alloys that could produce strong, lightweight weapons. These advances let the CASE Global’s in-world operatives blend in, while giving them a serious combat advantage.

  1. Advanced military drones

Some of the events of The Rogue Retrieval unfold on our world, which brings true modern weaponry into play. Unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) are increasingly relied upon for surveillance and combat all over the world. The one I can buy at Sam’s Club for $100 is fairly advanced, so just imagine what the U.S. military is using.

In my book, the most advanced drones in the world are not made by CASE Global, but by a rival corporation. A corporation that would do just about anything to expose CASE Global’s deepest secret to the rest of the world.

About the Author

Dan Koboldt is a genetics researcher and fantasy/science fiction author. He has co-authored more than 60 publications in Nature, Human Mutation, The New England Journal of Medicine, and other scientific journals. Dan is also an avid hunter and outdoorsman. He lives with his wife and children in St. Louis, where the deer take their revenge by eating the flowers in his backyard.

About The Rogue Retrieval

Sleight of hand…in another land

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.

That’s how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it’s only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.

Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read.

Book Links: HarperCollins  Amazon   Barnes & Noble   Goodreads   iBooks 

Giveaway

Courtesy of Harper Voyager, I have TWO e-copies of The Rogue Retrieval to giveaway and they can be sent internationally! The winners will have 48 hours to respond to my email and I’ll be checking entries so be sure to include the correct information.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck!
Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings -Anya

© 2016, Anya. All rights reserved.

Comments

  1. I heard this book does cool cross-genre thingies, wouldn’t mind getting my hands on a copy :)
    Sharry recently posted…Book Review: Court of Fives by Kate Elliott. A girl jumps through hoops on the court to earn the respect society off-court refuses to give her.My Profile

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge