Image Map

Top Ten Books if You Like Game of Thrones

Top Ten Tuesday

Thanks to the gals of The Broke and The Bookish for hosting this meme every week!

Since Game of Thrones has become such a popular TV show, I run into a lot of people who have seen the show and maybe started to read the books and haven’t read much other fantasy at all. I’m then forced to try to get them to read all the awesome other books out there that they should if they like Game of Thrones :D. Now, I know one thing that a lot of people like about Game of Thrones is the court intrigue, but I’m not actually a big fan of court intrigue, so I can’t really make book recommendations for that aspect >.>. However, I can make other types of recommendations :D.

More Epic Fantasy

The Way of Kings Elantris A Turn of Light by Julie E. Czerneda The Demon King The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin

  1. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson – if you like your stories hefty with extremely interwoven and complex plots, The Way of Kings is your book!
  2. Elantris by Brandon Sanderson – I promise this is the last Sanderson, but it is my favorite of his so I couldn’t resist! If you like crazy new worlds with spooky religions and magic, Elantris is a great pick and not quite as long as TWoK ;-).
  3. A Turn of Light by Julie Czerneda – Look at me and including things other than Sanderson :D. A Turn of Light is a bit of a slow building book, but I think that A Song of Ice and Fire is full of slow books, so fans should be pleased, haha. A Turn of Light has village intrigue instead of court intrigue, but kind of the same, plus dragons!
  4. The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima – I feel horrible that I’m only on book one of this series, but it boasts a lot of fans and another awesomely intricate fantasy world and an unhealthy obsession with the number seven! ;-)
  5. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin – I struggle to convey the awesomeness of this book but the world is fantastic and there are dead and enslaved gods! Plus I love me an unreliable narrator who admits that she is going crazy :D.

More Edgy SF/F

The Waking Engine by David Edison  Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead  The Grim Company by Luke Scull The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

  1. The Waking Engine by David Edison – Now when I say edgy, I mean adult content for this one! There is sex and violence and lots of swearing but also a mind-blowingly awesome world of the dead and beautiful writing.
  2. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff – Stormdancer is more on the dark side of edgy. I actually found it rather depressing when I first read it, but then my reading tastes shifted and I flipping loved the sequel even though it was even darker! The world of Stormdancer is awesome but extreme climate change and pollution kind of place ya know? Oh and court intrigue!
  3. Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead – This is a sci-fi, so it is a little further away from Game of Thrones, but the world and characters have a similar feel in my brain for some reason. There are plenty of sexy times and action along with mystery and magic.
  4. Grim Company by Luke Scull – This book kind of grossed me out at times, but it is very much dark fantasy with all the violence and fighting and spooky magic that you could wish for. Despite at times wishing it was less gross, I’ve become strangely attached to it and am dying for the sequel (so you GRRM fans can feel right at home :D).
  5. The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch – I think it would be illegal to have a list of edgy fantasy without Scott Lynch’s series on it, haha. If you like deviously gray characters and more complex plots, Locke is perfect and amazing and so so funny. There is a lot of swearing, but it is so artfully done!

Yey, I love epic and edgy spec fic :D. It’s fun getting to do a list with books I haven’t featured as much as well, so that’s a plus. Anyway, are you a GRRM fan? Have you read any of these? Any other recommendations?

Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings -Anya

© 2014, Anya. All rights reserved.

Comments

  1. Jenn @ A Glo-Worm Reads says:

    I’ve only read Gameboard of the Gods, but you’re right, it does have a GoT feel in terms of the characters. I <3 GoT!..lol Lots of those books are on my TBR though!

  2. I confess, I have not read the Game of Thrones books, and I’ve only seen a couple episodes of the show. Still, I love fantasy books, and I see at least a few titles up there that have been on my TBR list for far too long…dishonor on my cow. :( Time to get reading! Thanks for the great list!
    Kel recently posted…Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix (2 stars)My Profile

  3. muuuwhaha – I’ver read 6 out of ten of those and all of the rest are on my list to read.

    Would you believe I almost did a top ten based off Game of Thrones too but then I thought hmmm better do something different.
    Tabitha (@Pabkins) recently posted…Sharon Lynn Fisher dishes on the Sci-Fi Fantasy of BioPunk & GiveawayMy Profile

  4. Alyn Yang says:

    Love Game of Thrones. I haven’t read any of the books you listed but I have heard of most of them. I had to add a few of them to my list of books to read. Thank you so much for sharing them!

  5. STORMDANCER and THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS are *still* on my bookshelf. I’m sure they’re staring forlornly, wondering if I’ll ever have time…
    Cecelia recently posted…top ten books to read if you liked shakespeare’s the tempestMy Profile

    • Haha, I know exactly how that goes, don’t worry. Though I’m tempted to lock you in a room with Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, it should really be required reading ;-)

  6. Great list! Love GoT. Words of Radiance is the perfect recommendation! :D
    My TTT
    Liesel Hill recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday: The Walking DeadMy Profile

  7. Jessica @ a GREAT read says:

    OOh nice! These are new to me! I read Gameboard of the Gods, but in the end, I just couldn’t get into it all that much. The same with its sequel. But still awesome list!!

    Here’s my Tuesday post

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

  8. I love it when I see Demon King on someones list! Cinda Williams Chima is one of my favorite authors ever and i feel like her books are overlooked sometimes. And can I just that it only gets better after book 1! Great list!
    Nobody @ The Story Goes… recently posted…Blog Tour: The Bellum Prophecy by L. Marie Horton: In The Spotlight+Qoutes+GiveawayMy Profile

    • So agreed, I was happy to spot that in my scanning Goodreads and remember how awesome she is :D I have heard that the series continues to improve, I have book two sitting on the shelf waiting patiently for me :D

  9. Forget edgy fantasy – Locke Lamora should just be on every fantasy list, period! Same goes with Sanderson – Elantris is always a great rec since it’s the rarest of things: an actual stand alone!
    Allison Scott recently posted…Watching the TV and Reading the BooksMy Profile

    • Well yes, very true! It actually started in the top category and then moved the bottom since it definitely needs an adult content warning ;-)

      I’m still secretly hoping for a sequel to Elantris >.>

  10. Interesting titles! Some of them unknown to me, so they are going straight into the “look out for them” list.
    I can vouch quite happily for N.K. Jemisin, since I read her first book recently, and I like her style and narrative voice very much. For more “grim” fantasy, besides the already mentioned Joe Abercrombie, I can suggest Richard Morgan and his “A Land Fit for Heroes” series – not for the faint-hearted but very well written.
    Maddalena recently posted…Glamour in Glass – Mary Robinette KowalMy Profile

    • Oo, awesome, thanks for the recommendations! I get nervous when I hear about darker fantasy since I never know if it is the kind of dark that I can handle, ahah.

      • Well, Morgan is *darker* than GRR Martin and Abercrombie – far darker…
        There is a great deal of swearing and four-letter words and there is violence, but it’s never self-indulgent or used just for mere shock value. And the author has a great writing style, which can help.
        I suggest you look at some synopses before tackling the books, though, just to know what you’re getting into and leave yourself a… way out, so to speak *g*
        Maddalena recently posted…Glamour in Glass – Mary Robinette KowalMy Profile

  11. I love this list!
    Clair. recently posted…Top Ten Books If You Like Once Upon a TimeMy Profile

  12. I haven’t read any of these books, but rest assured, they have all since been added to my Goodreads TBR list!! Thank you for so many awesome recs, I really look forward to reading!
    Savannah Fry recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Fans of ABC’s Once Upon a TimeMy Profile

  13. I haven’t read, or even heard of, most of these books, but I have Gameboard of the Gods on my bookshelf, and Chima’s other series that I still need to finish. But I’ve heard that The Demon King is fantastic, and I’m hoping to start that sometime soon :)

  14. Yay for Brandon Sanderson and Scott Lynch! \o/ N.K. Jemisin’s books and The Waking Engine are also on my wish-to-read list :) Hehe, I also focused on recommendations for fans of Game of Thrones on my list this week. Great list! :)

    My TTT

  15. I usually suggest the same few series.

    The First Law by Joe Abercrombie
    Crossroads by Kate Elliot
    and yes
    Locke Lomora. If they don’t like fantasy there are a few historical fiction authors that get brought up alot.
    Nathan (@reviewbarn) recently posted…Fantasy Review: ‘Dealing with Dragons’ by Patricia C. WredeMy Profile

  16. Yes. N.K. Jemisin is just yes! I found her books when I was done reading Octavia Butler Seed to Harvest series, and wanted more fantasy/sci-fi in my life. The second book, The Broken Kingdoms, is actually my fave. The third one I didn’t get, but I want to go back and give it another try.

    So many more great recs to look into because I do love Game of Thrones! (I’m a book and show person.)
    Incredibrarian recently posted…Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Books If You Like. . .My Profile

    • Also, the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes. It’s being marketed as the Game of Thrones series for teens, and I agree. I love it! But I couldn’t tell if you were only doing adult fiction here, or YA, too.
      Incredibrarian recently posted…Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Books If You Like. . .My Profile

      • At first I had only adult and then I wanted to include Stormdancer so I switched it >.> I was only including series I’ve read though and I’m so sad to say I haven’t read Falling Kingdoms yet! *eyes copy on the shelf* one of these days though

    • When I first made this list I almost forgot to include Jemisin and then I sat up in the middle of the night and realized my error! Good thing I caught it in time right??

  17. The only one I have tried is Gameboard of Gods which I need to give another try. I DNF’d it the first time (not with a permanent DNF just a try again one aka it went back to TBR)
    Felicia the Geeky Blogger recently posted…Top Off Tuesday: Inside Heat by Roz LeeMy Profile

  18. Looks like I have some books to pick up!!!
    I don’t read much fantasy these days with the exception of YA. I’m glad you included some regular adult picks here.
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday
    megan @ love literature art and reason recently posted…Top Ten Tuesday–If You Like The Hunger Games movies…My Profile

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge