Image Map

Waiting on… The Devourers by Indra Das

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine!

Adorable dragons are necessary for everything, but this one is keeping her eye out for more awesome books :D

The Devourers by Indra Das

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a reading experience quite unlike any other novel.

I don’t even know where to start with my love of this book. Look at that cover! Read that description! This looks absolutely amazing. I love reading books inspired by cultures other than the typical European that I find so often in fantasy and I can’t wait to read this one.

What are you excited to read next?
Anya from On Starships and Dragonwings -Anya

© 2016, Anya. All rights reserved.

Comments

  1. Call me shallow and impulsive, but as soon as I saw that cover at NetGalley I immediately one-click downloaded it. It’s just so beautiful! The description intrigued me too, but I think it’s one of those books that can go either way for me. I hope to be surprised :)
    Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum recently posted…Review Bites: A Taste of African HorrorMy Profile

  2. OOoh that looks intriguing! Loving that cover!

    Here’s my WoW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)
    Jessica @ a GREAT read recently posted…Waiting on WednesdayMy Profile

Speak Your Mind

*

CommentLuv badge